Catching Up–Houston Summer

Hey everyone!  Sorry for the delay in posts, but honestly, I didn’t have a ton to catch you up on.  As far as life goes, just the same ol’ work.  If you’re curious (or extremely bored) the project I’m working on is a deepwater project in the Gulf of Mexico called Jack St. Malo, and was recently featured in this video in Fortune Magazine.  Working on a project that gets oil out of the ground in over 7,000’ of water (1+ mile) really puts energy use in perspective! 

David and I are also pretty busy house hunting at pretty much the worst time possible.  The Houston housing market is smoking!  Not sure what will happen, but we need to make some decisions in the next few months.  We’ve had some really emotional conversations/decisions and and while we’ve made a couple offers none have been strong enough as most houses already have contracts or multiple offers above list price by the time we see them.  But we are keeping our eyes out for that special place to call home.

IMG_1283

On to a more exciting topic, training: my hip is finally much better, yay!  I mentioned in some last posts it was aggravated while running/biking.  The three ART (Active Release Therapy) sessions I went to seemed to help, as well as just throttling back a bit.  Sure, I lost a little speed and power, but I am SO happy I’m back in the game.  I got some long rides and runs in the last couple of weekends and it felt GREAT.  I’m back to 10+ hour training weeks and just enjoying it.  I love that feeling of being sore – not injury sore, but knowing that I worked hard sore.

IMG_1289

Much needed legs-up-the-wall pose has happened more than once in the past couple of weeks

And David is finally recovering and can run again, hooray!  This morning before work David and I did a good 1:10 hr endurance run:

  • 30 min warm up at comfortable pace with stops/stretches every mile
  • 30 min endurance pace (HIM pace, 8:30 for us as we are a tad out of shape) with 10-15 sec rest every 5 mins
  • Stop and recover a few minutes
  • 5-10 min EZ run/jog to cool down

By the end David and I both commented on how we really enjoyed the shorts breaks every 5 minutes and it gave us something to look forward to.  Amazing how quickly the workout went; had it been a straight 30 minutes it would have been much harder.

We followed it up with my new favorite smoothie recipe, with lots of anti-inflammatory power from the cherries (recipe below for one person; we double it for both of us):

  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1/2 cup water + 1/2 cup almond milk or milk
  • 1/3 c frozen cherries
  • 1/4 c frozen or fresh blueberries
  • handful kale
  • 1 date
  • 1/2-1T chia seeds
  • 1/2-1T wheat germ or flax seeds
  • 1t spirulina
  • 1/2-3/4 scoop whey protein powder

IMG_1302

Breakfast at work

And just some other randoms from the week:

IMG_1294

Sunday was a 3 hr bike + 45 min run brick followed by scrambled tofu/eggs with toast.  I was so proud of myself for completing this tough workout!

IMG_1300

A yummy dinner of roast chickpeas, avocado, egg, arugula-spinach mix and whole wheat pita toasted with Rosemary and served with hummus

IMG_1296

New Betty gear makes swimming even better!  (feel free to email me if you are interested in a discount on Betty Designs gear 🙂

One thought on “Catching Up–Houston Summer

  1. So glad to hear David is back to running and your hip is better!! I love ART…miracle worker!! I hope you get that perfect house at just the right price soon!! Oh yay…congrats on getting in a big brick workout 😉

Leave a Reply

