California Life

Hello – long time no see!  I’ve been remiss, and I feel like I need to jot down a few thoughts on what we’re up to and where life is these days.  At the same time, I haven’t been all that motivated to blog or even be involved in social media – not sure where the blog will go, but for now here’s a quick update:

We moved to California end of May and started work in June.  We absolutely LOVE it here and can’t get over how lucky we are to live in such a beautiful place with so many outdoors activities.  Every weekend feels like a vacation, and I look forward to every week as well, I love our home and our little routine.  We’re living in a small town near Berkeley, CA and we found Nathan an amazing daycare on the way to work.  We’re paying a little more to have a short commute, but it’s worth it.

Nathan is turning into such a boy!  He has done great with the move (as if he had a choice), but he has been an awesome traveler, already taking a trip back to Texas in June for my little sister’s wedding.  He loves the outdoors here and is great in his hiking backpack.  I have the weekday morning shift (i.e. dropping him off at daycare), so I get to spend time with him from 6-7:30 AM before we go to “school” (daycare) to see his friends.  I savor that time with him while we get ready and make breakfast together.  We also have our family time with Dad from 6:30-7:30 or 8 once everyone is home.  Nathan is such a happy guy and very social, we are always saying how lucky we are to have him!  He loves being around others, and is very curious.

IMG_4476IMG_4561IMG_4502

I’m enjoying work and my new job, and also the new setting and all the hiking.  There is an awesome 3-mile hike just 7 minutes from our house at Tilden Natural park, as well as a little trail in walking distance of our house.  We really enjoy that as a family; it’s a nice time for David and I to talk and catch up, and Nathan likes to check out the dogs and flowers along the way!

IMG_4455IMG_446013327438_10100156404915340_5926398437531161296_n

Our house is finally feeling like a home!  It has a great outdoor space and it was so great to hose my mom, sister and my brother-in-law when they were en-route to Austin for their wedding.  We love our patio!

IMG_4501IMG_4503

Our little town also has some cute shops in walking distance – there is a market, liquor store and several restaurants and a gelato place which we’ve  yet to try (what?! I need to fix that).  The liquor store is great to stop in for a bottle of wine on a Thursday evening (when in California..).

13267802_10100156404880410_7999485981041712560_n

We’ve been exploring the surrounding area, and we haven’t made it into the City yet, but we’ve been to Marin County several times – Point Reyes, Muir Woods and Stinson Beach.  We went to the lighthouse and got a stamp for Grammy, who collects lighthouse stamps.

 IMG_1994IMG_201513342963_10100156790846930_3459597248762823051_nIMG_2344

We also recently went to Austin for the weekend for my sister’s wedding (which I mentioned above).  It was so great to see my family and we always love being in Austin.  They had an amazing rehearsal dinner at Le Noir in Soco (highly recommend) and we also spent some time around the Rainey Street bars and David and I stayed up much later than we normally do, but it was lots of fun and with great friends & family!  By the way, do you like our Shiner Bach wedding shirts?!  A favorite beer of the bride & groom.

IMG_234413503099_10102467287642645_5180571165455079656_o

13558625_10102467318500805_93476478445980449_o

On the fitness front, I’m still following along with the Tone It Up Bikini Series, and I have to say, the workouts are perfect for me at this point in my life.  I’m hooked – I love Karena and Katrina and their positive attitude and lifestyle.  Their workouts really incorporate strength (both bodyweight and with dumbbells/kettle bells), HIIT (high intensity interval training), cardio, and yoga.  I look forward to my workouts every morning because they are different and fun, and I feel so darn good afterwards.  Yes, their program is pretty focused on body image, but I find I like how it has strengthened my body more than anything – I’m now stronger than I was when I was doing endurance sports.  On a side note, I went on a 3 hour bike ride last weekend, and while it was fun, I realized I didn’t miss it as much as I thought I would.  I’m enjoying not being exhausted and having a happy medium of life and workouts.  I also thought I’d never say this, but I’m also enjoying not having a goal or race to train for – it takes a lot of pressure off to train all the time.  It lets me enjoy life a little more and really soak up each moment.  There is just too much to explore and do here in California!

Anyway, hope you all are doing well!  I would love to hear if you have any favorite places to visit, hike, bike, camp, eat, etc. in Northern California, let us know!

One thought on “California Life

Leave a Reply

