2015 Reflections

I learned a lot about myself and life this year.  I took on a new role as a mother: something which I will be forever proud of, humbled by and grateful for.  While pregnant I had my fears and doubts about parenthood and what it would bring, but I feel like it was meant to be and something I’m so glad I get to do. I’ve found joy like I’ve never experienced, but also dark days like I hadn’t imagined.  I learned that I am not unsusceptible to hard times and that I need a support network to help me out more than I realize.  I leaned on my husband, in-laws and immediate family who were there for me even when I wasn’t myself. 

886964_10107534163892044_6730817143624546676_o

I’ve seen the joy and wonder of a new world through a child’s eyes, and the sparkle brought by such little things.   My son’s smile is so very powerful; I hope to help guide him through life, and give him the opportunity for a million more smiles.  Through him, I’ve learned to be silly, laugh more, and be patient.  He has shown me to slow down, and enjoy each day, because they are so very fleeting.  He has given me some of my greatest challenges, but also all the best moments.  I now see my own parents & in-laws in a new light, and often think of the sacrifices they’ve made and hard work they put in to give myself and my husband such a great start to life.

IMG_0326

I’ve learned that I need to be patient with my body, and sometimes lower the bar when it comes to my own grand expectations.  Recovery from birth has been more trying [for me] in more ways than one, but I am determined to stay focused and slowly work my way back to a base fitness level.  My health and fitness are always a top priority for me, but I’m also learning that some tradeoffs aren’t worth it a this very moment, and my race goals have shifted from where they once were.  I love competing, but my true joy will be sharing my experiences and adventures with my family. 

 

1933147_10107534163572684_6783007320303337704_o

Going in to 2015, I knew it was a year I couldn’t plan for, but I couldn’t possibly expect the most amazing outcome.  Yes, we’re still a little sleep deprived, my house is never that clean, but my heart is full, my family is healthy and there are many more adventures yet to come. 

I wish a Happy New Year to all of you and your loved ones!

IMG_0381

2 thoughts on “2015 Reflections

  1. I can so relate to your feelings about entering motherhood, the joys, the darkness, and the need for help. I went through and am still going through all of these emotions – though the joys are becoming far more prominent. It really is amazing how something so small can make you see the world in different light. Priorities have definitely changed…

    Nathan is just the cutest! Happy New Year to you and your family. May the year ahead bring you joy and precious family time that you will never forget!

Leave a Reply

