Pregnancy Weeks 33 – 35: Training, Baby Showers, and Nesting

Hi friends!  The weeks are finally running together.  Things were going by a lot slower in the 1st and 2nd trimesters, but now that I realize we have limited time left until baby arrives I’m in full on get-stuff-done mode! 

I’m so grateful that the ladies at work threw me a wonderful baby shower in early June, and my mother-in-law hosted a beautiful event with friends & family in late June.  I am extremely flattered and touched by all those that have been able to celebrate Baby Breaux with us!  Below are some fun snapshots from the coastal-themed baby shower my mother-in-law threw.  Baby better love the beach as much as his family does!

DSC_5746  IMG_1007IMG_0995  IMG_0941IMG_0951 IMG_0975 IMG_1018  IMG_0944 DSC_5747

Nesting: Now that we’ve received the majority of our baby gear and the baby room is mainly set up, things are seeming a lot more real.  We’ve also got our high chair, strollers and baby swing downstairs waiting for their new visitor.  I still have to purchase wall hangings and a rug for the baby room, but the basics are there.  My goals for this week are to finish my hospital bag and get the car seat inspected.  Then we will have the essentials covered!  July will be reserved for the finishing touches, stocking our pantry/freezer, and reading as much as I can.

Learning: David and I also stayed very busy in June with our training classes.  We took baby CPR, infant care, and a birthing class with hospital tour.  Lots to remember!  I finished Baby 411 as well and at least I have the basics and a good reference when I can’t remember (definitely recommend this science and research-based book!).  Next up his Happiest Baby on the Block as suggested by our pediatrician.

How’s baby?  He has been super active as ever!  I can’t tell what position he is in, but he really loves my right side, or at least his limbs are facing and punching that way.  My doc was guessing he is head down, but we have our last 36-week ultrasound next week and we will get to see how he is doing.  I can’t wait!  We haven’t seen him since week 20, which is four months ago.  From now on we will have weekly doctor appointments.  Sidenote – I keep telling my husband how it’s cruel that they measure pregnancy in weeks.  You think by week 30 you are so far, and then realize there are still TEN to go.  At least now that we’re almost in to July I can finally count down.

How’s mom?  I’m feeling about the same; excited to meet our little one.  At this point I hardly know how it will feel to be NOT pregnant.  I haven’t had too many mood swings; the only bummer continues to be that I can’t indulge in sweets or carbs as much as I’d like – and of course partake in biking, running, etc.  But I’m hanging in there and while I certainly won’t miss pregnancy, I will miss all the kindness people have shown towards me.  I love that people at the pool tell me I look great (for a preg woman in a bikini, ha!) and even people at the gym or grocery store make nice comments.  I’m at a 23ish? pound weight gain and definitely feel it going upstairs nowadays.  My only complaint is that my middle back aches from long car rides, so I try to avoid them if possible.  I think at this point we will just be staying around town for July anyway.

Challenges: Picking a name (ugh!) – I think we’re almost there though.  And getting solid sleep. 

Favorite Moments: Every time David talks to baby and seeing how excited he is.  He even got “his” hospital bag packed and by the door already 🙂   

Clothing Purchases: I got a Jolyn tieback bikini a few weeks ago and LOVE it (thank you Katie for the blog review/recommendation!).  Since it’s tieback I feel like I could easily adjust it for body changes post-pregnancy.  I think I want another for as much swimming as I’m doing…  Otherwise my clothing purchases have been very limited since I’m in the home stretch and can’t bring myself to drop the $$. 

That’s all for now!  Have a great week everyone.

4 thoughts on “Pregnancy Weeks 33 – 35: Training, Baby Showers, and Nesting

  1. Glad to hear things are starting to go by faster for you. I feel like I am still a LONG ways away from delivery day and that time is not my friend right now. Hopefully things will begin to speed up in these next weeks as I have travels plans, baby shower, and other fun activities going on.

    You look great and it sounds like you are doing really well. That’s great that you are putting the finishing touches on the nursery (we still have a long ways to go).

    I know what you mean about picking out a name. We have it narrowed down to three.

    Thank you for the book recommendations. I am going to be doing a lot more reading in the 3rd trimester and am keeping my eyes open for good reads. I will add these to my list… any others you would recommend?

    Getting excited for you mama!!!

    1. Hey girl – you look amazing as well!! I’m sure the next few weeks will go quickly for you with all the preparations, showers, etc! I feel ya on missing my activities – I had a rough morning the other day because I read some race reports and was just bummed it will be so long before I’m back! Oh – and I’ve also gotten a little cramping in the feet while swimming but not sure there is much to do about it. Even my calves get a bit tighter now.

      I don’t have any other books but I felt like the 411 gave a good overview on sleep & baby development – pretty eye opening how little babies understand, even at 6 months! I realized that sleep training isn’t realistic until 4 months anyway, so there is time! Someone gave me Healthy Sleep Habits Happy Child so I might get to that at some point too. I’ve heard not so good reviews about Babywise because it tries to sleep train the kid before 4 months.

      Enjoy all those hikes – they look amazing!

Leave a Reply

