Maui: Upcountry Gardens & a Strength Routine

My parents, David and I flew into Maui fairly early so that we could catch a cheaper flight.  After landing and getting our rental car, we had a lot of time to kill before our 3 PM check in at the vacation rental.  We had zero itinerary for this trip, so we looked at the map and decided going to the central Maui area to see a Kula Botanical Gardens and the Ali’i Kula Lavender Farm would be a good choice to get a lot of walking in.  I always enjoy botanical gardens; I think Hilo Botanical Gardens are my favorite of all.

We noticed upcountry Maui (which starts to gain elevation as it goes up towards Haleakala, was a lot drier than other parts of Hawaii and felt almost like California.  This is a smaller botanical garden, but still nice to see some Maui plants.

IMG_9348IMG_9336IMG_9373IMG_9392

 

IMG_9345_6_7_fusedIMG_1733IMG_1723IMG_9339

Eucalyptus bark is always so cool.

IMG_9382_3_4_tonemappedIMG_9385

Photo ops.

IMG_9380IMG_9390

Dad and his favorite Maui bird, the Nene (pronounced Nay-nay).

IMG_1728

Next up was the Ali’i Kula Lavender Farms since we were so close.  My parents had been there previously on a trip to Maui with my grandparents.  It was definitely worth the stop for some beautiful vistas.

IMG_9410IMG_1745IMG_1748IMG_9414_5_6_tonemapped

But, after not too long we got hungry, so we headed back to Kahalui to grab lunch, and do some grocery and kiteboard shopping.  Then it was finally time to check in to our vacation rental in Haiku.

It was a nice evening, so I decided to do some strength work on the lawn.  David loves making fun of me for my hips/core/glutes routine, but somehow my parents wanted to join in for the fun!

IMG_9442_3_4_tonemappedIMG_9464IMG_9458

In case you are interestred, this was just 20-30 minutes of Marni’s hips/core/glutes exercises that only require your own body weight and maybe a mat.  It was something like this, repeated 2-3x:

  • 10 baby gates over/back on each leg
  • 60 seconds each: front plank, and side planks
  • 10 push-ups
  • 30 seconds glute lift each leg
  • 60 seconds lower back exercise (on tummy) opposite arm/opposite leg
  • 30 seconds of hip drops on step, each leg
  • 10 marches while in bridge pose

Baby gates: pretend you are stepping forward and backward over a baby gate.  These are great for hips; I often use them to warm up my hips prior to a bike ride.

IMG_9425IMG_9478

Planks: we all know and love these.  Don’t judge my form 😉

IMG_9430IMG_9437IMG_9442

Glute Lifts: a nice “gentile” exercise to transition to after planks. 

IMG_9453

Lower back with opposite arm/opposite leg.

IMG_9460

Hip drops on a step:  I believe all these hip exercises helped me and my knees during ironman training.

IMG_9470IMG_9472

Bridge pose with marches.

IMG_9475

Why would we be in such a beautiful setting and doing exercises?!  Well because it feels good and that is what makes me happy.  Not to worry, we did relax and have some beers after this.

2 thoughts on “Maui: Upcountry Gardens & a Strength Routine

Leave a Reply

