Early Season Weekend Workouts

Hey y’all!  Happy late Valentine’s Day; to be honest David and I didn’t celebrate on Friday, but we plan to go out later this week when it is less crowded. 

IMG_0813

I know my posts are less frequently lately, but that can be blamed on training plus house hunting – oh and Sochi and the Walking Dead are to blame also 🙂

I had two GREAT weeks lately which were real confidence boosters.  My runs off the bike have been solid and at a faster pace than I imagined, my bike power feels strong, and I feel the endurance on my swims.  I knew interval-based training was good, but I didn’t know it was THIS good.

IMG_0800

{Sweating it out on the trainer for weekday bricks lately}

On the weekends I’m doing about 3 hours of workouts per day so far (outside), which may not sound like much to some ironman athletes, but Marni knows how to push me, that’s for sure!  The workouts are no walk in the park and are challenging me a lot, but still leaving me time for my personal life.  I like that I’m done in the morning and have the rest of the day to myself. 

Last weekend on Saturday I did a long bike with intervals followed by a short, faster run; I could feel it in my legs!  Then on Sunday I did the following workout on tired legs, shared with permission of Marni (MS=Main Set, T-Run=Transition Run):

Bike: 20 min just ride steady/EZ. 
MS: 5 x 2 min @ strong pace, w/ 2 min EZ spin in between.
15 min steady ride mostly at endurance pace.
5 min EZ spin.
T-RUN: 2 miles @ comfortable endurance pace. Stop and stretch. 
MS: 5 x 1 mile @ 1/2 marathon pace interval. (I ran these at 7:57, 7:40, 7:42, 7:27, 7:23 min/mi paces, then walked until 8:40 interval hit)
Stop and recover.
Finish with EZ endurance pace w/ stops or walks as needed.

I felt like I’d conquered the world after completing this workout!  I was so proud of myself; running sub-8 minute miles five times in a row was something I would not have imagined doing one month ago.  David met me for the run portion, and he though it was a hard workout even with fresh legs!  I thought the use of intervals for running was really a neat concept and a nice variety for a longer run, since normally I only see them for swim workouts. 

Lastly I wanted to share with you a dinner that has been working well for me to eat before my longer workouts, and that is super easy to throw together.  This is inspired by Marni’s pre-race meal: brown rice and a sweet potato (half of a large or one small), 1/2 cup edamame, and a small side salad.  I find it to be carb-y, filling and sits well in my stomach.

IMG_0815

It’s really easy because you can have frozen edamame on hand, sweet potatoes take 5 minutes to microwave, and you can even buy pre-cooked brown rice packages at Costco if you forget to cook it ahead of time.  I season salt, pepper, and add balsamic & olive oil.

Ok, that’s all for now, have a great week everyone!

One thought on “Early Season Weekend Workouts

Leave a Reply

