Lately

First week of half ironman training – done!  I knocked out a run test and a swim test this week; I have to admit, it’s a little nerve-wracking knowing that a coach will be reviewing your numbers, so I went out a little hard on both tests, but I’m sure I’ll get used to it.  Otherwise all the workouts went really well and I’m liking the flow of them.  I have a designated “rest day”, and most of my running/biking is in bricks, so it consolidates my workouts a bit better.  I’ll just have to get used to lots of running off the bike! 

My plan calls for a couple days of strength training per week, but never full body, so Body Pump is now out.  I think it will be good to have a change and not be so tired out like I was!  I’ve luckily recruited my friend Amanda to do weights with me since she’s a rockstar when it comes to lifting.  She has some great Pinterest workouts; we did a few circuits of this one last week and it definitely had me sore:

IMG_1242

I did spend a little extra time swimming this week too, since it’s my weak sport I’m trying to do extra drills, even if it’s just 30 minutes.  Plus it’s HOT here.  Why not cool off?

IMG_1260IMG_1262

Oh yeah, and another good ghetto ride with the boys – these guys are really challenging me and improving my climbing!  And only one really mean dog on my tail this time.  Helps me work on my sprinting Smile 

IMG_1270

Lastly some eats from the week – Clean Start’s Polenta Pizza and Linsey Corbin’s Pumpkin Curry.  I didn’t set out to do a curry since it seems better for cool weather, but I googled some of the ingredients in my CSA (butternut squash, green beans, red pepper, tomatoes) and this came up.  It was simple and probably my best stab at curry yet.  I added tofu and served over brown rice.

IMG_1247IMG_1258

Hope y’all had a great week and weekend too!

2 thoughts on “Lately

Leave a Reply

