Healthy Veggie-Fried Rice & Acknowledging Your Accomplishments

Post-race Monday I was ready for a break.  I’m continually amazed by the impact “just one hour of a sprint tri” can have on your body.  Pushing your body to the limit can hurt and can require some recovery time.  I referred to Marni’s rest vs. active recovery list and opted for a full recovery since I felt it would be best mentally and physically.  I could tell I was pretty hungry most of the day Monday and sleepy too, despite naps and lots of recovery food on Sunday, so it was safe to say it was time for a break so I could be fresh and ready to start back Tuesday.  I did do some light Pilates, stretching and foam rolling on Monday to get all the race soreness out.  By Tuesday morning, I was up ten minutes before my alarm and ready for a challenging swim practice of 2400m.

I took some time in the past two days to reflect on my race performance and my races for 2013 so far.  I told you all yesterday that I am sometime frustrated with the podium in sight; well it’s true, I have a competitive spirit!  However, I came to realize, wow, I’m doing pretty well considering a tough 30-34 AG and a much larger field of competitors than in my past races!

By putting it in that perspective, I realized a number of top 10 finishes (and multiple PR’s) is pretty awesome!  That’s quite a bit of progress this year, especially since I’m just “doing my own thing” with my training right now.  Sometimes you have to give yourself a pat on the back and acknowledge your achievements versus get down on yourself right?  I felt strongly about mentioning this because I want to show other women sometimes it’s okay to be proud of yourself & your accomplishments instead of constantly comparing yourself to others – especially when you put in the hard work to get there.  (I say this to women, as usually guys don’t have this self-bashing issue!) 

But enough on me; back to recovery & food.  To help tame my hunger AND clean out my fridge of leftovers, I made a pretty tasty veggie fried-rice dish (without too much frying) on Monday night. 

Healthy Veggie-Fried Rice

*adapted from Feed Zone’s Chicken-Fried Rice, serves 2-3

IMG_1236

  • Oil spray or 1/2 T grapeseed oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 1 egg + 1 egg white, whisked
  • 2 c leftover (cooked) brown rice
  • 1/2-1 pack of tempeh, cubed
  • Leftover or frozen veggies, chopped – corn, green beans, asparagus, edamame – approx. 2 cups
  • 2 T Tamari or soy sauce

This is really easy: sauté the onions & garlic in just a little oil until translucent.  Add the whisked eggs to the pan & cook them.  Add the brown rice, tempeh, and tamari and cook for a couple more minutes.  Lastly, add in the remaining veggies. 

Most of the veggies I added were pre-cooked since they were leftovers, so if you have harder veggies that need to cook (raw carrots or peppers), you might add them earlier with additional oil.  Some fresh ginger would have been great to sauté with the garlic as well.  That’s all for now, hope you enjoy!

7 thoughts on “Healthy Veggie-Fried Rice & Acknowledging Your Accomplishments

  1. Those are some impressive placings for any age group, but even more so in the highly competitive F30-34 group.
    I may be a guy, but I definitely struggle with the self-bashing, and have a hard time accepting my accomplishments for what they’re worth. Working on it, but it doesn’t come easy to me.

    1. Thank you so much Jesse! I probably should not assume just women (I know we all have a mean ego or voice in our head that needs to shut up sometimes, haha). You have some awesome accomplishments and should be proud as well. I mean running ultras?! And you are just a fast runner, period.

  2. Hey Brittany, great post and you should definitely be proud of your placings! Have you read Don Fink’s book? There’s a section on 1% improvements that is worth a read. In your case I’m sure it would help to give you that much coveted and deserved podium spot.
    Comments regarding impact of Sprint race on your body noted, I do my first one in 4 weeks!

    1. Thank you! I actually have that book on my kindle and will check out the 1% part, I appreciate the recommendation. Can’t wait to hear about your first sprint!

  3. Fantastic results! Great to hear you’re having a great season. I think we all need to remember to be proud of what we’ve accomplished. You’ve done some great work – reading about your work certainly helps inspire me!

Leave a Reply

