Blueberry Banana Recovery Soft-Serve

How is your weekend going?  We’re getting some rainy days over here in Texas, but I don’t mind, it’s keeping things cool.

IMG_1171

It’s not stopping me from workouts though; I got out Friday morning (pre-rain and pre-traffic) for a 30-miler and finished up with some abs.  V-ups are my death, by the way.

IMG_1164IMG_1159

So post-ride & abs I was very hungry and made a new breakfast for me: soft-serve over oats.  I came upon this because my Vitamix is broken (!) and currently being fixed under warranty. I was really craving a smoothie after the ride, so I decided to try it in the food processor instead.  Amazing! 

I know I’m not the first one to post about banana soft-serve, but this is so good y’all!  Hands down my new favorite summer-y breakfast right now.

IMG_1167

Blueberry Banana Recovery Soft-Serve

In the food processor, mix 1 frozen banana, 1/3c frozen blueberries, 1 scoop vanilla protein powder (I like Bluebonnet Natural Flavor), and add coconut water (1/4-1/2c?) to reach preferred consistency.  Serve over dry rolled oats and top with your choice: coconut flakes, walnuts, cacao nibs.

IMG_1166

This is pretty similar to Acai bowls I’ve seen pop up around blogs lately, so I might have to try it with Acai berries soon! 

Keep cool my friends Smile

5 thoughts on “Blueberry Banana Recovery Soft-Serve

  1. This looks great! I don’t have vanilla protein powder, but just got some chocolate to replicate a smoothie I had on vacation. I bet you the chocolate powder and frozen banana would be awesome, with a spoon of peanut butter to round it out!

      1. That’s such a great idea! They don’t sell frozen cherries over here, but I picked up a couple pounds of in-season cherries to freeze and do this!

Leave a Reply

