Respecting My Body

So you’ve seen by now we had an absolutely GREAT weekend in Chicago celebrating Elise & Mike.  I can’t get over how it was so “them” and I kind of loved experiencing the wedding day rush – the excitement/nervousness, the last-minute prep, the (getting ready) girl time and all that crazy fun dancing!

Well, you can see we did a LOT that weekend, but unfortunately that didn’t include a whole lot of hydrating or sleeping, which was nobody’s fault but mine.  And not surprisingly, I came home with a bad cold and was out sick for two days.  I notice that I often get sick after big trips, and I think the common thread is that I’m not practicing the same habits I do at home, and I’m not resting nearly as much as I do at home.  Next time I need to remember night shades for bright hotel rooms and vitamins daily (even if it’s just for the placebo affect).

IMG_0114

I was also a little disappointed in myself for not respecting my body.  I ate more and drank more alcohol than usual.  Now don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed so much of it and loved seeing my sisters, family, and friends, and there were actually some great healthy/veg options at the restaurants and wedding, but I was a bit upset with myself for continuing to take “just one extra bite” and always having a beer in hand.  David is extremely good at nursing beers and stopping eating when he is full, and I’m… not.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not an alcoholic and if anything a lightweight that drinks less than 1-2 drinks per week.  However, in social situations when I have one drink, I often loosen my guard and am not opposed to having another, and in the case of weddings, another…  I hadn’t been hungover in a very, very long time, and I had a mild hangover on Saturday morning, which I really didn’t like the feel of.  I much prefer being sore and exhausted from a long bike or run.  Coincidentally, I read this recently on one of my favorite blogs:

Don’t regret what you choose to put into your body.

It’s true, I chose everything that when into my body last weekend, no one else did.  I wasn’t considering it for fuel, but for enjoyment at the present.  It reminded me to think when I eat “how will I feel after I eat this?” versus “this tastes so good, I’m going to keep eating”.  It also reminded me to use food for both enjoyment and fuel; to enjoy a drink but not overdo it.  Like with everything, there’s a balance to be mindful of.

On the flip side, the week leading up to the wedding was stellar from the food and workout front: overnight oats with chia seeds, Greek yogurt, and strawberries, lean turkey tacos, spirulina green smoothies and roast chickpea trail mix (loved this savory trail mix idea!).

IMG_0832IMG_0835IMG_0843IMG_0844

  • Monday: 28mi “Tour de Hood” (AM) City Bike Ride with friends + 2100m swim team (PM). 
  • Tuesday: 4 mile run (AM) + Body Pump (lunch)
  • Wednesday: 70’ bike ride (AM)
  • Thursday: 5 mile run (AM)
  • Fri – Sun: Wedding Travel – OFF

And this week I’ve been eating fairly plant-based which feels great; bring on the green!

4 thoughts on “Respecting My Body

  1. I just got back from Chicago last weekend and even though I worked out, I drank far more than usual and had lots of tasty fatteng in Chicago food. I’m actually surprised people are skinny when they are eating the chicago style pizza. But it was good and I had fun. So…it’s back to watching what I eat.

  2. Sometimes you should eat for the moment because it’s good and you want it — it’s life, you gotta loosen up from time to time! You are probably the healthiest person I know so don’t be hard on yourself! 🙂 I do know how you feel though – having hangovers SUCKS. I’m heading to NOla this weekend so I am pretty sure I will be hungover all weekend, lol.

Leave a Reply

