Mango Avocado Salsa

Hey guys!  I’m back with a quiet week/weekend to report around here.  Not too much is going on because we’re getting geared up to go to Chicago for my sister’s wedding next weekend.  I’m very honored to be her Matron of Honor (I feel so old using the word “matron” – that’s what happens when you get married, you’re not a maid anymore), but I’m already getting a bit nervous about the speech.  I used to public speak more often for work, though it’s been so long.  I know it will work out, but since I’m continually stressing about something, that’s the current topic of the week.

For workouts, I kind of took it easy this week after the Olympic tri.  It didn’t seem as hard on my body as my first Olympic tri, but I still felt tired and like I earned some rest days.

  • Monday: CapTex Oly Triathlon
  • Tuesday: 1500m easy recovery swim
  • Wednesday: 2400m swim team
  • Thursday: 4 mi run + Body Pump
  • Friday: rest day
  • Saturday: 8 mile hellish run – aka summer is here and the humidity put me in my place
  • Sunday: 60’ on the trainer.  My cycling friends and I had planned to ride 85 miles on the IMTX course, but mother nature planned otherwise.  We checked weather.com at 5 AM which showed clear skies until 12 PM.  About halfway through the drive I checked the radar and started realizing the ride wasn’t going to happen.  So we just had a long, rainy drive to The Woodlands and back.  We even tried to meet up again in Houston and the rain followed us.  Hmpphhh.  Headed home and did an hour on the trainer instead.

IMG_0827IMG_0828IMG_0830

So yeah, it’s been either really HOT or we’ve had summer rains.  But looking on the bright side, I’m loving the yummy food summer brings.  My CSA is filled with peaches and sweet corn, and I can’t stop buying berries.  And if you follow me on Instagram, you already saw this photo of seared salmon with mango-avocado salsa; David really raved about the salsa so I thought I’d share.  You might notice we have a thing for mangos and avocado.  Can’t. Get. Enough.

IMG_0824

Mango Avocado Salsa

Makes a big enough batch (4+ servings) for when your husband won’t stop eating it with chips also.

  • 2 Mangos, chopped small
  • 1 avocado, chopped small
  • 1 jalapeno, de-seeded and chopped
  • Cilantro, chopped ~1/4 c
  • Juice of 1-2 limes
  • Drizzle of Olive Oil

Mix & let marinate 30 minutes before serving.  Fun additions: red onion, bell pepper,  cayenne pepper. 

For the salmon I seared it in a pan skin side up with oil, then flipped it and finished it in the oven for 8-10 mins. at 400 degrees.  Serving this salsa with cumin black beans, salmon and rice felt very “Cuban” to me, and perfect for summer!

Leave a Reply

