Olympic Tri Prep Week

Thanks for all the well wishes with the Ironman!  I’m still questioning my sanity, but I’m sure I’ll work through it.

As for this week, I’m getting ready for my first Olympic tri of the year on Memorial Day (CapTex), so I tried not to go too hard with training.  I’m pretty excited that the Town Lake water temp was recently measured at 69 degrees, so it’s likely a wetsuit swim.  My main goal for this tri is to not go too hard on the bike (I failed at this in TriRock), so that the run doesn’t completely suck.  I don’t have too many expectations otherwise since it’s a very large triathlon.

Monday: 4 mi run (AM) + Pilates (lunch) + 2000m swim team (PM).  I’m psyched to have found a HARD mat Pilates class!  Tomoko at the downtown Y is really good – she had my hip flexors trembling!!  A good amount of planks were involved and I learned some new moves for my ab routine.

Tuesday: 3 mi run with hills (AM) + Body Pump (lunch)

Wednesday: 65′ of intervals on bike trainer (AM) + 2100m Swim Team (PM).  I also had a nice ~1mi walk to the downtown farmer’s market with David for lunch.  I liked the market, but I thought the lunch options were pretty pricey.

IMG_0796

Thursday: 5 mile run with group (AM) + Body Pump (lunch). 

Friday: 45’ spin (AM) + 1600m Open Water Swim (PM).  I went for an easy bike to test it out and try out my new water bottle system before the race; more on that later.  I also headed to the lake in the afternoon to get some open water swimming.  I was a little surprised my Garmin said I was averaging 1:45/100m, which is a good improvement from last year if it’s really true.

Saturday:  Easy Run.

Sunday: Nothing, in prep for my Olympic tri Monday!

A few summer eats, from top left: Berry-topped steel cut oats with flax seed, chia & walnuts, Classic Strawberry-Banana smoothies with Coconut water, OJ & Vanilla Whey, Carrot-top Pesto, Baked Flounder with the pesto over polenta & roasted green beans <—fancy, right?  Not pictured: lots of tortilla chips, granola bars and nut butter.

IMG_0800IMG_0806IMG_0804IMG_0803

See you next week with a race report!

2 thoughts on “Olympic Tri Prep Week

    1. Thanks Erin! Yes, the course looked like a lot of turns! A little nervous about it on my tri bike, looks like I’ll be out of the aero bars a lot.

Leave a Reply

