Real Ale Ride Recap

Hey guys!  I’ve been out for the past few days since David and I took a brief road trip to the Austin / Hill Country area for a fun bike ride.  We’d heard about the Real Ale Ride from some family members, and I was immediately game for a hilly bike ride starting/finishing from a brewery!  There were ride routes of (20, 30?), 50, 65, and 85 miles.  We started with the longer group and decided we’d see how we felt at the 65/85 turn off.

Who doesn’t like a ride with a free meal, 2 beers and an Italian ice cream?

IMG_0775

Before we left Houston I made a batch of sweet & savory rice cakes while I was packing.  I set 1 cup of rice in the rice cooker and once the rice was done, I created one sweet (Roasted almond butter + Blueberry jam + Shredded Coconut) + one savory (Bacon + Egg + Parmesan) set of rice cakes, so David and I could each have one for the ride.  Using the large pan and a rice paddle to form the cakes worked perfectly, and these were great during the ride.  I posted this picture on twitter even got a retweet from @Skratchlabs – I’m officially obsessed with their recipes!

IMG_0768

As for the ride itself, we started out with a friend, but he took off way too fast for us.  I’m a negative split type of gal, and I like to warm up!  I was really frustrated with my (road) bike most of the ride though, because I had a creaking noise.  I think it’s the seat post; I’m looking for a new one, just haven’t purchased it yet.  Anyway, the first 25-30 miles were fairly hilly, then we hit a nice rest stop and turned off, deciding to do the 65 mile route.  On the 65 mile route, there was one memorable never-ending hill where I kept looking down to double check I was in my easiest gear. 

IMG_0780IMG_0786IMG_0790

We stopped again around mile 50; it was getting really hot at that point and we’d turned into some fairly gusty cross- and headwinds (15-20mph with gusts).  I had a rice cake and some refreshing orange slices.  For the last 15 miles, I got a second wind and felt really strong.  I have no idea why it takes me 50 miles to feel so great?!  So I pulled the rest of the way back, with David asking me to back off the speed occasionally.  Maybe it was the rice cakes I was eating at the rest stops?  They were magic. 

IMG_0791IMG_0784

The ride itself was fun and scenic, but the route was not one that I would return to without being on an organized ride, since some of the roads had fairly high speed limits.  They had nice charcoal t-shirts (some of the better ones I’ve seen), that said “Up the hills, down the beers”, and we each enjoyed a beer post-ride – there were plenty of great beers on tap to choose from.  Cheers to fun bike rides!!

IMG_0788

3 thoughts on “Real Ale Ride Recap

    1. I cooked the rice, then formed the cakes while the rice was still hot. I formed them with a rice paddle and it worked well. I let it cool before cutting, and used a wet knife to cut them to prevent sticking. Let me know if you try them!

Leave a Reply

