Esprit de She 10K Race Recap

Phew, someone remind me that 10Ks are HARD next time I sign up for one.  I think of all the running distances, it might be the hardest!  5Ks are fast but over soon, and half marathons are at a steadier, sustainable pace.  10ks are at a delicately balanced pace where I feel like you pretty much push hard the whole time. 

Ok, enough complaining, on the bright side I raced in the Esprit de She women’s Houston 10K last Thursday night and got a new 10K PR!!  I came in at 49:45 mins, 3rd in my 30-34 AG, and 13 out of 327 other women at an ~8:01/mi pace.  It was pretty warm out (80 degrees?), so I was happy to have been able to PR by 2 minutes.

This was my first women’s only race and it was kind of cool – though still fairly competitive.  I swear, girls are more competitive than you might think!

IMG_0718

The race was 2 loops, and I of course went out too fast.  I really thought I’d have no issue holding 8:00min/mi the entire time, but the heat proved me otherwise.  Since I’d started out so fast, I just decided I’d try to keep increasing my heart rate from there.  I was surprised how long I could hold it in the 170-180 range.  Don’t get me wrong, this did not feel great!  I’m pretty sure I maxed myself out on this one. 

CaptureIMG_0719Capture1

My only issues were that traffic built up on the course during the race, and the cops directing traffic were sometimes stopping runners to let cars go by – when your heart rate is super high and you’re pushing your hardest you become sort of a B* and just want to keep running.  And also my Garmin didn’t match the mile marker flags; when I hit the 5 mile flag, my Garmin said 4.4?  The finish line couldn’t come soon enough!   The finish, however, was kind of awesome when I got to it because I actually crossed the tape for the first time.  It felt like I was a real champion or something!

After the race I was happy to meet up with fellow blogger Rachael as well as some girls from Sports Bra Slingshot Racing (a new Houston-based tri club I joined).  I feel bad, I was a sweaty mess and Rachael didn’t even look like she ran, sorry Rachael Smile  She’s really speedy and got 1st in her AG for the 5K – wow!

IMG_0720

Overall, this was a really good mid-week training opportunity, but it was difficult to compete in a hot, evening race in May in Houston, so next time I might not put any crazy expectations on evening runs.  I even had a few chills afterwards because I’d worked so hard.  Do y’all get that?   Either way, glad to have raced and glad it’s DONE.  Now time for some much needed rest & recovery [eating]. Have a great weekend!!

Full Disclosure – Lifetime Fitness comp’ed my race entry for this one.  I may have run it anyway though since I knew some girls doing it and it’s a great way to get in a hard run in during the week!

6 thoughts on “Esprit de She 10K Race Recap

  1. Brittany, 10Ks are HARD!!!!!!!!! 🙂

    Excellent race you did, and splendid timing! Did they reset the tape at the finish after each person?

    1. Yes, you definitely could work your way to it!! 5 years ago I’d never done a run longer than 3 miles. And now I love half marathons – I would never have thought!

  2. Very impressive and sounds like a great race. I just did my first ever 10K this past weekend and couldn’t agree more that it was so HARD. I felt like I had to go at 5K pace the entire distance and even thought about pulling in after the first loop. That and there was a 15 year old boy in front of me that was just kicking my butt. My time was a lot slower but it was a great experience.

    1. Thank you Bob! Yes – the pace just hurts the whole time. Yeah, what’s up with all these fast teenagers? I have 12-year old girls passing me during triathlons sometimes!!

Leave a Reply

