2013 CB&I Sprint Triathlon Race Recap

SO close, yet so far!  That’s how I feel about this race.  I came in 4th out of 49 women; and these women were fast.  If only I’d had another 1-2 minutes I might have placed, but I gave it all I had to give, so I still feel really good.  I PR’ed from last year by almost 8 minutes (with the help of a wetsuit & tri bike), so I’m happy.  But man, a podium spot would have been nice.  And get this, I would have been 1st by over 7 minutes had I been in my old 25-29 age group!!  MAN.

First, thanks for all the good luck comments – it was motivating and nice to hear! I woke up feeling really good (and thank goodness not sick), but of course a little less sleep than I like.  I never sleep well the night of a race; my nerves get to me.  Body marking “30” for the first time:

IMG_8602IMG_8603

Our friend & neighbor Justin was also racing in the 30-34 men’s AG.  He jokes that this is “the face of a man about to be dominated” – Justin always adds some humor!

IMG_8605

David was spectating this one – I only barely got in off the waitlist and he had already raced last weekend when I was Bachelorette-partying in Austin, so it was kind of fun to have him sherpa-ing.

P1000599

The race started 30 minutes late, so when it was finally time to go, I was ready!  The nice thing was the sun came up by the time we started at 8:00 AM, so it was getting warmer. 

IMG_8614

500m Swim, 10:26, 2:05 min/m, 4th in AG

The swim was honestly very fast!   I had a pretty good starting position near the shore to the outside right.  The water was around 70 degrees – bearable without a wetsuit, but I opted to use mine for the added buoyancy since it’s easy to get off even without wetsuit strippers.

IMG_8617

I felt like I didn’t need much sighting and that I’m swimming much straighter than I did last year.  My only issue is that I caught up with the age group in front of us, and ran into quite a few girls.  It’s easy to sight for buoys, but not other swimmers!  This was my first lake swim of the year, and as with most lake swims, I get a bit flustered and don’t concentrate on my form like I do in the pool.  I can’t complain though, the wetsuit made things feel easy and being up in 4th is a HUGE improvement.

IMG_8623

T1, 1:42, 3rd in AG

As I exited, Mrs. Breaux yelled “there’s only a couple white caps in front of you!!”– what?!  I could place, now the race is on….  It went from wanting to beat my own time to wanting to beat the others.   T1 was fairly quick, but I had a few seconds lost getting my wetsuit over my time chip.  I also didn’t tighten my bike shoes as much a I’d like, so they felt loosey-goosey on the bike later, whoops.

IMG_8629IMG_8637IMG_8645

15 mile bike, 20.8 mph, 43:14, 4th in AG

The bike was FUN!  Yes, it was hard, but I loved being on my tri bike and flying.  The course is really flat.  Being in the second-to-last AG to leave, I was just passing people the whole way and calling out “left” a lot; I never got passed.  I was actually a little worried for most of it that I was going too fast and was going to burn out – but my avg HR was 165 bpm which seemed right.  I thought my avg speed would be closer to 21.5 mph, but maybe my mount/dismount were slow, and during the first two miles my legs were slow to warm up with the 50 degF temps.  Surprisingly I never felt cold though.

IMG_8667IMG_8673P1000658

T2, 1:14, 4th in AG

Not bad, but I did get in trouble when I racked my bike the wrong way and an official had me re-rack it with my wheel touching the correct side – ugh!  My only lesson learned is that I kept my running shoes tied really loose to be able to slip them on without trouble and they were too loose on the run.  Maybe some tri shoes are in order??!

IMG_8675

5k Run, 23:07, 7:25/mi, 8th in AG

While this was my unofficial 5k PR (which is great!), the run is still not my strong suit.  I was in second pace the whole race, until two girls just blew by me, and I knew even as hard as I tried I wasn’t going to catch their 7:00/mi or less pace.  I did negative split (7:47, 7:28, & 7:16 splits), with a 167 bpm avg HR. 

IMG_8688P1000697

Overall, 1:19:43, 4/49 AG, 103/841 total participants

Since it was so close, David and I geeked out and did some analysis of the race.  I really want to know what I need to work on.

IMG_8693

It’s kind of interesting that I held 2nd place out of the top 4 all the way until the run:

Capture

And with further inspection, the girl in 1st dominated on the swim (8 minutes), then just maintained the same pace with me on the bike & run.  Of the other two, one had a much faster run, and the other had a slightly faster run and bike. 

Capture1

The run seems to be my biggest difference between me and the other girls (who had 7:20, 6:15 and 7:00 minute run paces).  And I suppose with the bike, I could maybe gain a little.  What do y’all think?  I would love some feedback on what to concentrate on this summer! 

11 thoughts on “2013 CB&I Sprint Triathlon Race Recap

  1. Congrats on a great finish, and an 8 min PR over last year (isn’t that about 10% in one year? that’s amazing!) I’ve heard that the 30-34 age group is the most competetive for females (maybe it is for males too). Love the comparison chart with the other top finishers – seems like something I would do!

    I’ve got no advice for what to focus on, since I’m not a triathlete (yet). I’m biased towards working on running though! Regardless, congrats on a great race.

    1. Thank you! Yes, I’m really happy with it, but of course want to analyze & figure out what I can do better 🙂 I tend to agree maybe some running speed work would help, since I was around 4th in my AG in everything else, and 8th on the run.

  2. Congrats on your race, and a great recap. I could completely relate – the run is not my strong suit either. But a PR time is still excellent – congratulations!!

  3. Very cool! Congratulations on a great race. Pulling together a high age group placement takes consistent performance across all three disciplines, and that is really tough to accomplish. I tend to let my bike performance fall off.

    1. Thank you – good point! It’s one of those things where it feels so close, yet additional gains in speed are getting harder and harder to get!

  4. This design is wicked! You obviously know how to keep a reader amused.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my
    own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Fantastic job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!

Leave a Reply

