30th Birthday Weekend

Thanks y’all for such nice wishes for my birthday weekend, it’s so nice to hear from blog friends; we had so much fun and I got to enjoy so many friends and family!  David organized everything and did an amazing job.  On Saturday we invited a bunch of friends & family out to Spotts Park in Houston for some grilling & games.  David grilled Shish-ka-bobs (a favorite) & corn, served with brown rice.  And of course, Kona beers for all. 

IMG_0585IMG_0584IMG_0587IMG_0588

We also brought a croquette set since I’d mentioned how much I loved it; my family used to have a set from when I was little, but I hadn’t played it in so long.  Here are a few shots of the action – SO much fun!!

IMG_0593IMG_0590IMG_0594IMG_0600IMG_0601IMG_0605

We finished everything off with my favorite ginger-beet cupcakes, which I sadly didn’t get a picture of before they disappeared.  These are our neighbors Amanda and Justin (Amanda is my speedy running buddy):

IMG_0610

On Sunday, I really wanted to do a 2x your age bike ride (a tradition), so David and I headed to the Katy/Fulshear area west of Houston for a 60 miler.  I decided I’d test out the Felt on a long ride.

IMG_0620IMG_0619

The bike is wicked fast!!  The area was pretty flat, and I was cruising easily at 20 mph, and 24 mph when I let it rip.  I could really feel the aero advantage of a tri bike – it’s slow to get going, but once it does, it flies!!!  David was getting upset with me.   I’ll do a whole post on road and tri bike difference later, but it was pretty fun and 60 miles went by so quickly.  I can’t wait to take her out again!!

4 thoughts on “30th Birthday Weekend

Leave a Reply

