Age like a Chili Pepper

The big 3-0.  As I quickly got ready for my morning run with David, my friend Amanda and her husband Justin, I looked in the bathroom mirror, and thought “hey, lookin’ pretty good for thirty”, and then on further inspection, thought “geez, when I was twelve and getting my first zits, if anyone had told me I’d still be breaking out when I’m thirty, I would have been like WTF??!!  My life is over!”  Haha, yes, I thought my skin would be perfectly clear by the time I hit 18, but we all have our days.  Thanks pollution & humidity 😉 

IMG_0578

Anyway… I feel like I should do some big post about what I’ve learned in thirty years, but I’m still learning and still don’t feel like I’m 30 years old.  I did talk to a gym friend and when I told her I was turning 30, she said “Oh, the thirties are great!  I mean, the twenties were great too, but you are still learning about yourself and feeling things out.  In your thirties, you have a great confidence and you feel good about you“.  I love that.  I loved my twenties, but I’m keeping that in mind and working on that positive outlook on myself in this new decade – because I do struggle with this at times.  We all know the saying “like wine, better with age”, but last night David instead told me to think “like a chili pepper, hotter with age”, and let’s be honest, self confidence is hot!  Bring it 30’s!

So today has been great, truly.  I have a great feeling of peace and contentment.  I’m so very happy with my life, who I am, and all the amazingly fun things I get to do  (triathlon, cooking, blogging…. just to name a few!).   What’s more, I’m looking forward to a weekend of birthday events, including a friends/family BBQ complete with bocce ball, croquette, Kona beers, Shis-ka-babs and vegan cupcakes.  My husband knows all my favorite things and thought of all these before I did.  I kept suggesting things and got “yeah, I already planned that.  Yes, have that already.”  He knows me well.  Oh, and what birthday weekend wouldn’t be complete without a 2x your age bike ride?  We’re shooting for a 71 mile bike ride from Bellville to Chappell Hill on Sunday.  So that’s it; I couldn’t ask for more.

What do you guys think about the thirties?  Any chili peppers out there?

9 thoughts on “Age like a Chili Pepper

  1. Happy birthday! Sounds like you’ve got a great weekend ahead of you!
    The thirties are wonderful, although I definitely don’t feel like I’m several years into them. But so far it’s been the best couple of years of my life. If nothing else, I’ve learned that life doesn’t end when your 30 (even if I do have to go to bed earlier than I used to!)

  2. Happy Birthday! It sounds like you have a fun weekend planned! The only thing I don’t like about the 30’s is the 30-34 age group seems to be much more competitive – ha! 🙂

  3. Terri and I wish you a wonderful birthday. You always look beautiful!! See you this weekend. I can tell you the Thirties, Forties, Fifties and Sixties are all different and wonderful in their own special ways (although Terri hasn’t seen her sixties yet). The secret is enjoying them, and I know you and David will always enjoy them. Love from us.

Leave a Reply

