Kale-Avocado-Mango Salad & Mango-Habanero Kale Chips

Before I get to a few recipes for this week, let me announce the winners of the Athleta Visors: Jesse, Rachael & Laura!  I especially love that their answers for favorite running distance ranged from ultras to “running across the tennis court”. Esprit de She will contact you shortly.  Enjoy Smile 

Now onto April’s Endurance Foodie recipe share; this month Jason presented us with an interesting challenge: create a meal using ingredients with only two colors.  Normally I follow my Grandma Susie’s rule for salads “always use three colors and three textures”, but I’m totally game for a challenge, and using just two colors for ingredients is actually kind of hard to do. 

I do think it’s important to look for a rainbow of colors in your diet – I read more and more on the benefits of adding blue, purple, red and many other colors to your plate.  I chose yellow and green for the challenge; we all know the benefits of green, but yellow is a bit more rare, in my diet if you don’t include eggs.  Yellow or “sunny” colored foods have a good amount of Vitamin C, much like orange, and they can be instant mood boosters (source).  I tend to agree I’m happy when eating pineapple, mango, or similar!! 

IMG_0528

Kale-Avocado-Mango Salad

Makes 4 servings.  This salad is really versatile.  Another variation (thanks to WaterBlogged for these ideas): use macadamia nuts, dried cranberries OR blackberries & a little chevre instead of bell pepper & mango.

  • 1/2-1 bunch kale, chopped
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 1/2 – 1 lime
  • Drizzle olive oil
  • S + P, to taste
  • 1 yellow pepper, chopped
  • 1 mango, chopped
  1. Add kale and avocado to bowl.  Massage kale and avocado with your hands until avocado is distributed evenly. 
  2. Add lime, juice, drizzle of olive oil, and salt & pepper to taste.  Massage again.
  3. Add in chopped mango & avocado – done!

I know, mango could be orange or yellow; mine was underripe, which meant wonderfully sour and more yellow than orange. Okay, here’s one more recipe for fun, if you can call cashews “yellow” (sort of??) and find a yellow habanero pepper.  Orange would of course taste just as good! 

IMG_0557

Mango Habanero Kale Chips

*Dehydrator needed.  Note: you can add habanero seeds based on your heat level preference.  No seeds gave a nice heat level.

  • 1 c cashews, soaked 1-2 hours
  • 1 yellow bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 habanero pepper, seeds removed
  • 1 mango, chopped
  • 1 T nutritional yeast
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1 bunch kale, stems removed
  1. Strain cashews and place in Vitamix (could try other blenders or food processors).  Add all other ingredients except kale and blend until smooth.
  2. Tear kale pieces if needed and place in large bowl.  Massage cashew mixture into kale.
  3. Dehydrate at 115 for 12-14 hours (I need more time since Houston is humid).

 Do you have any favorite colored foods?   I easily love most things in the blue/purple/red category: purple Asian sweet potatoes, passion fruit, figs, blackberries, beets, and rhubarb!  Check out the other fun two colored recipes lined up throughout this week from these awesome blogs:

13 thoughts on “Kale-Avocado-Mango Salad & Mango-Habanero Kale Chips

    1. Ooh – I love roasted beet salads, do share!! My very favorite salad is Lava Java’s (on Kona) beet salad – roasted beets, avo, goat cheese, candied walnuts, salad greens and orange vinaigrette – to die for!!

      1. Oh that sounds good! Mine had cranberries and beets with goat cheese and regular walnuts because we ran out of candied ones awhile ago, but I prefer those. I used a red apple balsamic vinaigrette. The red apple balsamic was something I got at the farmers market last Saturday. Soooo good!

    1. Thanks Addy – Kale chips don’t last long in our house. I’m really enjoying your blog too and having a swim blog to read!! I was actually just thinking about asking you some kick-related questions because my kick is beyond slow, so you might hear from me soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

