Polenta Baked Eggs Over Kale + a Giveaway

I’m kind of obsessed with polenta lately – this stuff is so much easier to cook than I imagined!  Just boil water in a 3:1 ratio with the polenta, and stir it in slowly.  So easy.  I’ve been making variations of CTER’s Polenta Baked Eggs, and I think I found my favorite way to eat it, which is over sautéed kale.  You can serve it on the side, but if you get brave enough transfer it on top of the kale it’s the best way to eat it, even if it looks terrible.  Runny egg over greens + red sauce = mmmmm.

IMG_0480IMG_0490

Polenta Baked Eggs over Kale (serves 2)

From this recipe with a few additions – thanks Jason from CTER!

  •  1.5 c vegetable broth
  • 0.5 c polenta
  • 1/4 t dried basil
  • 1/4 t dried parsley
  • salt & pepper
  • 1/2-1 c red sauce
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 T olive or grapeseed oil
  • 1 chopped leek
  • 1/2 bunch chopped kale & broccoli
  1. Pre-heat oven to 400deg
  2. Bring water/broth to boil, then add polenta slowly stirring, reduce heat and continue to stir.  Add spices and salt/pepper to taste.
  3. Add polenta to two small baking dishes (see pictures).  Create hole in middle, add red sauce, crack egg on top, then add more red sauce and pepper if desired.
  4. Bake in oven 15 – 20 minutes (check as your baking time may vary depending on the “doneness” of your egg)
  5. While baking, sauté leek in oil, then add broccoli, then greens.  Transfer egg & polenta over greens – this will likely be messy.

Note: I tried using parchment paper to pull out polenta, but it didn’t work well.  Also, this can be a light meal for two or a bigger post-workout meal for one.

IMG_0486IMG_0488

Onto training: I’ve been biking a ton (just because I love it), but I mentioned awhile back I’m doing the Esprit de She 10k on May 9th.  That’s only a month away, so I better start thinking about some speed work!  I’m looking forward to meeting some other Houston bloggers like fellow Body Pumper and speedy runner Rachael, who is doing the 5k.  If you’re thinking about racing it, sign up here and let me know!  I’d love to meet more athletic ladies from Houston.

Capture

The organizers have offered to do an Athleta visor giveaway – check out the super cute visor below!!  I’m actually a little jealous, I wouldn’t mind one myself Smile  Looks like it would be great for tennis, running, or just post-bike ride.  If you win, Esprit de She will send it straight to your address at no cost.  And I can’t guarantee the color, but all of them on the website are cute.

1Capture2

If you want to win one (there are 3 up for grabs), just leave a comment  below telling me what your favorite running race distance is, or just comment.  I’ll pick three lucky winners.  Mine is probably a half marathon – moderately fast with a good sprint to the finish.  Anything less is too hard!  Entries close Sunday April 14th.

12 thoughts on “Polenta Baked Eggs Over Kale + a Giveaway

  1. I’ve been wanting to make polenta but have been completely intimidated by it! this looks delicious though, so maybe i’ll give it a go!

    that visor is super cute! and i love racing 10ks and half marathons – definitely my fave distances for running short and long!

      1. A real chef would tell you to use milk and parmesan and butter but it just isn’t necessary as you end up tasting those things over the polenta. I want to taste the food I created and not the add ons like butter and cream……

        Anyway here is another way to do this that will help avoid the mess. After you cook the polenta put on plastic wrap in the fridge for 20-30 minutes to allow it to set. Make your greens the way you have it here then toss them into the bowl, place the set polenta on top then the egg and into the oven you go. Egg cooks, polenta re-heats and the greens are already there. You would do this in cookware that you can bring to the table since you don’t want to transfer it to another bowl.

        Love the revision and wait until you see what I have coming up for polenta this week or weekend. You will flip.

  2. I haven’t tried polenta forever, and would probably enjoy it a lot more now that I’m not so closed-minded when it comes to trying different foods.

    I’m not sure what my favorite race distance is anymore. I used to say a half-marathon, but it’s been three years since i’ve raced one, and with one coming up in May I’m a little nervous. 5k’s hurt too much for me to like them. I’m probably still partial to ultras just because the mental aspect seems to level the playing field a little bit.
    (Not to worry, if I win the giveaway I won’t be sporting a women’s visor at my next race. It’ll go to my wife who has been wanting one for awhile.)

    1. Haha, no worries, I figured it wouldn’t be for yourself 🙂 Gosh, ultras being your fave distance is just crazy – I’m not sure I’ll ever do an ultra in my lifetime, a marathon was a lot as it is!

  3. That’s such a simple good lookin’ polenta recipe. I’ve never tried polenta; every time I see it at the grocery store, I want to pick it up but not sure what to do with it! I will have to give this recipe a try. Are Canucks allowed in on the giveaway? Right now, my favourite is 5k-10km. I signed up for a Half upcoming May that I’m not sure if I’m ready for. I find if I go longer than 10km, my mind starts getting a bit bored (unlike cycling where I can go on & on). Do you have that issue?

    1. I will check and let you know on the contest. Hmm, I kind of enjoy running 6-10 miles, that’s about my fave distance. I don’t get bored since I usually run with girlfriends though. And during races, even if I’m alone there’s usually so much going on – so many people to watch etc. I know what you mean though, if I’m on the treadmill or running solo I get REALLY bored.

      1. True, race energy is different than solo runs. Now that you mentioned it, I did enjoyed myself a lot more last yr when I ran the 10K with the crowd. Awww bummer … another reason why I need to move South.

Leave a Reply

