Creamy Coconut Milk Porridge

It’s safe to say I love all things coconut – shredded coconut, coconut butter, coconut oil, coconut water… seriously, how many other products can be made from one fruit?  (for y’all science types, the coconut is technically a drupe, not a fruit).  I use coconut oil for my skin and shredded coconut in treats.   Also I’m loving coconut oil in place for butter/oil for cookies lately as well as for frying pancakes.  Here’s a version of gluten free vegan carob-coconut cookies I’m working on:

IMG_0362

The only coconut product I sometimes shy away from is coconut milk, since I open a can then don’t use the whole thing and it’s pretty high in fat.  I used some for a recipe earlier this week and then thought of a great way to use the remainder – in a big batch of steel cut oats.  It came out deliciously thick and creamy, and it has a nice 4:1 carbs to protein ratio.  I cooked it overnight in the rice cooker on the porridge setting, so that it was ready when I woke up, but of course you could cook it on the stovetop too. 

IMG_0383Creamy Coconut Milk Porridge

Makes 3 large servings

  • 1 c steel cut oats
  • 2 c water
  • 1 c light coconut milk
  • Toppings: 1 T flax, mango, kiwi, dried cranberry, walnuts

Nutritional Stats per serving (with toppings): 323 cal, 46g carbs, 17g fat, 11g protein

Onto training; last week when I tallied up my training hours, I thought whoops!  I did 11 hours of swim/bike/run plus 2 hours of body pump, for 13 hours total.  Is there a reason to be putting in 13 hour weeks?  Um, no… it’s not like I’m training for an Ironman.  But I was having fun and kind of wanted to see how a 12+ hour week would feel.  Still, it’s probably not too smart to up my mileage that dramatically; I think there’s a 10 percent increase per week rule of thumb or something like that.  So this week I toned it down a little, back to 10 or 11 hours:

  • Monday – Bike 15 mi (tri bike, getting used to the position after some adjustments from the bike shop) + Tri Swim Team 1950 m (both PM)
  • Tuesday – 3.3 mi run (AM) + Body Pump (lunch)
  • Wednesday – Tri Bike on Trainer 65 mins (AM) + Tri Swim Team 2350 m (PM)
  • Thursday – Body Pump
  • Friday – Rest; 30 mins yoga
  • Saturday – 60 mile road bike ride 2500’ climbing, 3:30 hrs
  • Sunday – 5 mi run

I took it pretty easy Thursday and Friday purposely; my knees were bugging me a little – no injury but you can’t be too careful if you have a warning sign.  I’m pretty sure I know why they were achy: (1) overuse from biking 70 miles last weekend then running long the following day and (2) my bike saddle was ever so slightly too far forward.  I’ve been making some adjustments myself over the past few months to get the perfect position, and sometimes it takes some fiddling to get there.  I did some bike fitting research online and used my trainer to get move the saddle 1-2 mm back and 1 mm down, and I think it’s now good to go.  I had no knee issues after the 60 miler.

Speaking of Saturday’s ride, I had my first flat in ages, ugh.  And I was of course riding solo since all my ride buddies including David were busy – bummer.  I’m okay with riding solo, I used to do it all the time in Colorado and I know how change a flat, but of course I prefer not to have flats at all if possible.   Anyway, I was only 15 miles into the ride when I got the flat and I used CO2 for my first time.   It worked, but I didn’t empty the cartridge into the tube fully and could tell my tire pressure was still a little low (I had extra cartridges but didn’t want to use more if I didn’t have to).  Luckily there was a rest stop 8 miles ahead and a volunteer had a floor pump in his car.  We pressured my tire back to 110 psi and I continued on with the 60 mile route, with no problems from then on.  I was sort of proud of myself for tackling the uncertainty of the tire change and continuing for 60 miles! 

I liked the CO2, but I generally keep a little carbon pump with me as back up, however I’m finding whenever I use it at high pressures, it’s pretty useless.  I’m considering changing to a Topeak hand pump for my pocket, in the event CO2 fails, since they had good reviews.  Anyone have a hand pump for emergencies that they recommend?

Next weekend is the Easter Hill Country Tour (a bike tour in Kerrville, TX with various mileage options) – I’m super excited to be out in the country soon!  Hopefully the Bluebonnets will be in bloom.

enchantedrockSource

Lastly I’ll leave you with a few other CSA eats for the week (clockwise from upper left: rotisserie chicken enchiladas with massage avocado kale salad, turnip latkas which were served with arugula salad, the CSA share, and salmon with roasted Brussels sprouts & broccoli.

IMG_0363IMG_0370IMG_0378IMG_0354

Everything was pretty tasty – though the turnip latkas were not husband-approved.  I think I should have cooked the turnips first to remove the bitterness and get them crispier, then add the egg/flour mixture.  You learn Winking smile

Another great week on the books; hope you had a great weekend full of cycling/running/swimming adventures and delicious eats too!

8 thoughts on “Creamy Coconut Milk Porridge

  1. I also carry a CO2 cartridge but have never used it so hopefully when the day comes, I’ll know how to use it. I know it’s not uncommon at all for people to carry hand pump in their pocket but I always wonder how uncomfortable it is to have something nudging your back the entire ride. I love coconuts too, especially coconut water. I went to Cambodia last November – I also crave drinking from fresh coconuts!! Good eats as usual

    1. My hand pump is really light, so it’s not a big deal, but you’re right the less in your pockets the better. Hopefully I’ll get more efficient with the CO2 and won’t need it anyway! Mmm, I bet the fresh coconut water is great in Cambodia. I had some in Thailand once, but it was so long ago I hardly remember.

    1. Thanks; I usually just massage 1/4 – 1/2 avocado plus some olive oil into the kale, then add shredded carrots, juice of 1/2 lemon, s+p and maybe some cayenne. You could add any veggies you want – red peppers would be good.

      1. That’s a really neat idea! I have only ever massaged olive oil and lemon juice into it, but I love avocado and will be trying this. Have you made kale chips yet? I only just discovered kale, but it is already a family favorite.

    1. Thanks – yes, I’m very lucky to be in walking distance of the Y, it’s been great. I agree with you – I would go to Body Pump every day too if it were beneficial, so it’s a good thing it’s not!

Leave a Reply

