Healthy Spanish Tortilla

Hey, y’all!  Welcome to the Fit Formula if you haven’t visited before.  I’m Brittany, a Texan triathlete/cyclist/runner that loves healthy food.  I’m excited to be participating in CTER’s Mediterranean Food Blog Carnival today and highlighting an #EnduranceFoodie recipe from Spain. 

20120429_113027

I like easy recipes that use common kitchen ingredients and don’t require too much prep time, since I’m usually hungry once I’m home and done with a workout!  Keeping that in mind, I stumbled upon the Spanish tortilla, which isn’t a typical Mexican tortilla, but rather a frittata-like egg dish.  In one of my favorite cookbooks, the Feed Zone, cyclist/chef Lim says the Spanish tortilla is “an all time favorite of the pros and amateurs [cyclists] alike…. enjoy it hot or cold most any time of day.”  Eggs. Check.  Easy. Check. Pro cyclists love it. Sold!

The more traditional recipes of the Spanish tortilla fry the potatoes in oil, but I wanted to health-up this dish, so I went for a baked approach and also added some spring veggies I had on hand from my CSA (Community Shared Agriculture) share.  This was something fun to try – hope you like it or consider it to change up your usual egg dish!

IMG_8469

Healthy Spanish Tortilla

Inspired by Eating Well & The Feed Zone

  • Olive Oil
  • 4-5 red potatoes, cut to 1/4” slices
  • 1 spring onion, chopped
  • 2 handfuls spinach, chopped
  • 6 eggs + 4 egg whites
  • 1 t dried thyme
  • Optional additions: any herbs/veggies of your liking, and maybe some parmesan cheese, which I didn’t have on hand
  1. Set oven to 450deg.  Drizzle olive oil (<1T) on potato slices & lay on baking sheet.  Cook for ~20 mins, flipping once.
  2. Sautee onion in 1/2T olive oil in omelet pan on medium-high.  Remove from heat once cooked.
  3. Whisk eggs & whites in large bowl.  Stir spinach, cooked onion, and cooked potatoes into bowl with eggs.  Add salt, pepper & thyme.
  4. Coat pan with enough olive oil to prevent sticking & return to medium-high heat.
  5. Pour egg mixture into pan.  Let mixture cook for 5 minutes; wait until it’s fairly cooked (middle might be runny), then pull up edges with spatula and flip tortilla onto a plate.  Once flipped, slide back into pan.*
  6. Cook for 3-5 more minutes until done.  Slice into six small servings.

 *I completely botched the plate flip and spilled some eggs; you might consider finishing this by baking in the oven (maybe 10-15 mins on 400deg).

Nutrition Info: Approximately 250 cal per slice, 30g carbs, 12g protein, 9g fat.

IMG_8459IMG_8458IMG_8443IMG_8460

Ok, so the finished product is anything but gorgeous (other pictures I saw on the internet didn’t look great either), but kind of like a fat tortilla or cake:

IMG_8466

I split it into six slices, topped it with a sprinkle of cheese & pesto (salsa would be great too) and served it with a side salad of arugula.  The tortilla itself is a little plain, but nice and bread-like.  I make egg scrambles and omelets at home often, but I liked the twist off adding potatoes since just eggs can sometimes leave you hungry in the evening.  Lim even suggested taking a slice on a training ride.  I haven’t been brave enough to consider taking an egg-based dish on a training ride, but I kind of wish I’d kept a slice in a cooler as a savory snack for the end of the ride I did last weekend.  Too bad I’d eaten the leftovers the day before the ride – they were pretty darn good.

Okay, thanks for stopping by, and if you haven’t already, check out the other blogs that participated:

4 thoughts on “Healthy Spanish Tortilla

  1. This looks phenomenal are you kidding me?

    The plate flip is not easy especially if the plate is too small for the pan. Gotta be careful not to burn yourself either while flipping.

    This is certainly going on the meal plan but how did you not eat all 6 slices in one sitting?

    1. Thanks! And glad I’m not the only one that thinks plate flipping is hard. I had a square plate and round pan (fail).

      It was actually pretty filling, and really good as leftovers. I think it would be great with one of your pesto or other sauce creations. Let me know how it goes!

  2. Hi,

    This is the first time I’ve read your blog & I’m definately coming back. I love a tortilla dish. To spice it up a bit & make it more interesting, try adding a healthy dose of garlic & chillies.

    I’m looking forward to reading more inspiring recipes.

    Clare

Leave a Reply

