The BEST Beet Smoothie

I have to thank Tri Marni for bringing this smoothie into my life.  Seriously, it’s so good, I can’t get over it.  It has two secret ingredients that I don’t normally add to smoothies: beets and spices.  The subtle warming spices of cloves, ginger and cinnamon really make this smoothie and the beet adds a nice sweetness.  It reminds me to change it up a little from my normal green smoothies and add some variety to my diet.  Plus, beets are in season right now, and the color is perfect for Valentine’s Day!

IMG_0229IMG_0232

 

Best Beet Smoothie

Serves one, adapted from this recipeBlend & serve:

  • 1c Milk (I used Unsweetened Vanilla Almond)
  • <1 scoop Protein Powder (I used Vanilla Whey)
  • 1T ground flax seeds
  • 1 carrot
  • 1 handful spinach
  • 1 banana
  • 4 frozen strawberries
  • 1/2c frozen blueberries
  • 1/2 roasted beet, skin removed
  • Pinch cloves
  • 3-4 sprinkles ginger (1/8t)
  • A bunch of sprinkles of cinnamon (1/4t)
  • Handful ice cubes

Approx. Nutritional Stats: 412 cal, 7g fat, 56g carbs, 30g protein

This is a great post-workout morning meal.  If you want more carbs, you could always cut back on the protein powder or add some oatmeal to the blend.  Don’t have time to roast the beet?  You can microwave it;  I haven’t tried, but I read to poke with a fork and put them in for ~8 minutes and rotate, like a microwaved potato.  Enjoy & Happy Valentine’s Day y’all!  If I’m up early enough I’ll have some more beet-inspired goodies to show you…

3 thoughts on “The BEST Beet Smoothie

  1. Beets cooked or raw are great in a morning shake but I surely would not recommend microwaving them. Just an organic slant on this: Microwaving causes changes to food molecules forming new life forms called radiolytic compounds – basically mutations not known in natural state.

Leave a Reply

