Collard Greens Three Ways

I’m really loving the CSA and excited to pick up my bag and find out what we get each Wednesday.  Still lots of greens, beets, and strawberries for now! 

IMG_8393

When I got last week’s CSA, I was at first disappointed to find out we were getting Collard Greens, since my experiences with them in restaurants are gross (lots of butter, etc.).  However, with a little research and creativity, the whole bunch was gone and it’s one of my favorite greens now!  Even David gave a thumbs up to all the below recipes.  Watch out kale, collards are pretty versatile as wraps, chips, or sautéed.  I’m kind of hoping we get another bunch soon.  Here are three different ways I ate them:

Collard Green Wraps

These are super-duper easy and can be eaten as a meal or as small snacks throughout the day.  The main thing is to slice off most off the bulk of the stem and then wrap like a burrito.  If you need a tutorial on wrapping, you can find it here.  I piled on the following ingredients for a “meal wrap”; I also made lighter snack wraps throughout the week with just veggies & hummus and even with quinoa.  These are a bit messy if the leaves are small.

  • Shredded carrots & beets (food processor disk attachment makes this step easy)
  • Sliced cucumber
  • Red Pepper Hummus or make your own
  • Short grain brown rice
  • Teryaki-marinated pan fried tofu
  • Squeeze of lemon

As soon as I got out the beets, David said “we’re making a wrap with beets”, and we simultaneously rapped “We got da beatz”.  Oh man, we are old and embarrassing already.

IMG_0207IMG_0208IMG_0210

 

Collard Green Chips

David and I love kale chips, so why not try collard chips?  I used this recipe with about 4-6 leaves, 1tsp EVOO, and sea salt, but baked them for around 20 minutes.  Wow – these were crisp and tasty!  Unlike kale, collard greens don’t seem to absorb as much oil, so you can go light on the oil with these or even just use a Misto sprayer. 

IMG_0214

 

Collard Green Polenta Pizza

Lastly, I made a polenta pizza with red onion, collards, deer sausage, and goat cheese.  The polenta pizza recipe was from Clean Start and had great Italian flavor with basil, parsley and oregano added to the mix.  For the topping, I sautéed the red onion and greens in a 1:1 EVOO to Mirin ratio.  Mirin is a sweet Japanese rice wine that is the secret ingredient; it cuts the bitterness of the greens.  I loved the combo – I didn’t bake the pizza quite long enough, so it become more of a casserole to eat, but I really enjoyed the flavors.

IMG_0202IMG_0205

If you haven’t given collards a chance, DO it!   You might be pleasantly surprised.

8 thoughts on “Collard Greens Three Ways

  1. These are very clever ideas to use collards. I like dark greens but for some reason, they can sometimes be a bit bitter for me when raw, even kale. I tend to like cooking them first. That said, I really like your the wrap idea – so easy, so simple.

  2. Great recipes (although not too sure on the chips :-)). We just started enjoying collard greens and kale and look forward to trying all three ideas. We have found collards make a great additional to our juicer (Collard Greens, Kale, Apples, Celery, Kiwi).

    1. Nice, I will have to try that juice! Hmm, maybe start with kale chips first if you’re new to the chips. The curly kale is the best for kale chips, and on a much lower oven temp. Hope you enjoy!

    1. Thanks; they’re really nice and refreshing! But a bit difficult to stay wrapped if you use small leaves (unlike sushi where the paper is sticky). I’ll have to try collards in smoothies – I wasn’t sure if they’d be bitter, so that’s good to know!

Leave a Reply

