Top 5 Reasons for Getting a CSA

Greetings! It’s back to life in Houston, and I’m super excited that we’re once again receiving CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) shares again from Wood Duck Farm. I had a weekly CSA for most of 2011, but in 2012 when we got really busy with triathlons, I stopped it for awhile and opted to do my own grocery shopping.  It was nice to have a break, but I hadn’t spent time going to the farmer’s market and I was buying a lot of the same veggies lately (carrots, zucchini, spinach, & broccoli were getting monotonous), so it was time to change things up.  Why get a CSA?  Here are my top 5 reasons for having one:

  1. I’m eating locally
  2. It’s seasonal produce (it’s hard to pick what’s seasonal at most large grocery stores)
  3. It gives my diet some variety
  4. It challenges my cooking
  5. It tastes really darn good!

Of course there are some downsides to a CSA as well, such as getting produce you don’t like (mustard greens!), meal planning on the fly, and wasting food if you can’t eat/plan it fast enough.

This week’s share was a mix of kale, spring mix, lettuce, beets, spring onions, cilantro, snow peas, Brussels sprouts, and strawberries. It made for some meals that were off the hook: salmon + roasted brussels sprouts (yum!), stir fries, lots of green & beet juices, strawberry covered oats, smoothies, and big salads.

IMG_8344

Everything above has since been eaten between the two of us, minus a few remaining spring onions Thank goodness we have a juicer and blender to help us pulverize anything we didn’t use for meals!  A few random samples from the week…

IMG_0182IMG_0181IMG_018520130203_124906

And to be a little indulgent, I whipped up Cherry’s chocolate avocado pudding – love the texture.  I like it as a spread on rice cakes.  I just wished those strawberries were still around by the time I made this dip!

IMG_0187IMG_0189

So my tummy is happy and healthy lately. 

On to fitness-related updates: I recently joined a 30-day Ab Group on Facebook – so simple, yet so effective.  No one in the group is necessarily on the same 30-day schedule, but the goal is to get a 15 minute core workout in for 30 days straight.  I’ve been doing it for 10+ days now and I can feel and see the difference; it’s awesome.  I didn’t realize that by joining a group it would be so motivating to see everyone else posting what they did for the day.  It kind of keeps you accountable too.  Oh, the power of group exercise Winking smile  How am I finding enough new ab exercises?  Simply youtube and websites like this.  I’m doing different variations of front and side planks every day, and throwing in glute and back exercises as well.

Lastly, even though I’m not training for anything officially, this was my first week in awhile to fit in all three disciplines, and I’m feeling strong and liking it.  The weekly numbers:

  • Monday: spin class
  • Tuesday: 4 mi run + Body Pump
  • Wednesday: 1700m swim
  • Thursday: 3 mi run + Body Pump
  • Friday: Rest day, easy 40min bike ride
  • Saturday: 8.5 mi run
  • Sunday: 40mi bike ride

Hope I can keep all this up!

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Reasons for Getting a CSA

  1. All those fresh veggies, so refreshing. I’m so jealous you fit in a 40mi bike ride, maybe I should move to Texas lol. I’m so done with this “winter” business! Spring, come already!!!! So excited you tried the pudding. I just made another huge batch tonight because I ran out.

    1. That’s the best thing about Texas – outdoor activities year-round! If you can handle a couple rather hot months of summer 😉 Yes, the pudding was good, but I think I still need to add a little more chocolate, it was a little avocado-y (but I didn’t mind). Do you use a certain brand/type of cocoa powder? I love chocolate extra-dark too.

      1. I can definitely handle some hot months, as long as it’s dry heat. Humidity & I aren’t meant to be. But I’ll still take that over the cold! Yes, do add more cocoa – I always add a couple more dash than called for, just for good measures. Not sure if Texas has a grocery store called “No Frills”? I just get their store brand of 100% premium cocoa. It’s definitely not those pricey raw cocoa kinds etc.

Leave a Reply

