My Favorite Millet Recipes

I was recently reading the CETR blog and inspired by some of the comments on the Mystery Millet post – I’ve loved millet for a couple years now, and thought I’d share my favorite millet recipes and how I cook it.  But first, what is it?  It’s a gluten free grain, with a very similar nutritional profile to quinoa.  It’s just a little lower in protein and a little higher on the glycemic index, according to NutritionData.Self.Com.  I find quinoa is a little bit lighter, fluffier and a little more satiating than millet, but that I enjoy the taste and texture of millet more.

imageimage

For some, millet’s a bit of a hippy grain.  I think it tastes similar to corn or grits and has a great texture.  When I cook it, I first toast it in coconut oil, then add it in a 2:1 ratio water to millet and cook for 20-25 minutes. 

Black Bean Burger & Millet Salad

My absolute favorite way to serve it is my go-to meal: a huge salad + millet + black bean burger.  I often crave this meal after being on vacation or when I just need to get back to clean eating.  On the salad is whatever I have at home – often toasted pumpkin seeds (bake <10mins at 250), shredded carrots & beets, cucumbers, spinach and homemade vinaigrette.

DSCN0678_thumb1

I’m sure I’ve pictured this meal too often; I guess I’m a creature of habit.  Here are the recipes (thanks to OhSheGlows):

Black Bean Burgers

Using this modified recipe (serves 3)

  • 1 can black beans, rinsed
  • 1/4 c whole wheat flour
  • 1 scant T olive oil
  • 2T BBQ sauce (I like Stubb’s)
  • 1/4t cayenne pepper
  • A few shakes of dried red pepper
  • S & P to taste
  • Optional: diced jalapeno or Serrano peppers

Stir all ingredients then mash with a fork, but leave some beans whole.  Form into three patties and cook medium-high on oiled pan (I use Olive Oil spray).

Only Balsamic You Need

Using this modified recipe (serves 2-3)

Whisk the following together:

  • 1T Olive Oil
  • 1.5T Balsamic Vinegar
  • 1T Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 1T Maple Syrup
  • 1/3T Dijon Mustard
  • Pepper to taste

Millet Granola Bars

My other favorite way to use millet is in granola bars, it gives a great crunch.  My favorite millet granola bar recipe yet is this one from Fig & Fork.  Be warned, it’s a little on the sweet side, but has some of my favorites – pistachios, almonds, dates, nut butter, and the bars are husband-approved. 

I won’t repost the recipe, but just show a few steps – apart from breaking out the food processor to make date paste, it’s a pretty easy add-wet-to-dry and bake recipe, but it’s VERY sticky.

IMG_8357

To get it stuck down into good granola bar form, I like to use saran wrap and press.

IMG_8359IMG_8361IMG_8363

And the final baked product:

IMG_8364

You could probably go without the date paste since the brown rice syrup is sweet enough, and even experiment with honey and egg as binders instead of the brown rice syrup.  I’ve been pretty conservative so far and just followed the basic recipe.

Another way I’ve used millet is in this vegetable pie crust – a hearty winter dish from my favorite cookbook Clean Start by Terry Walters.  I also really like the idea of using millet as a pizza crust; I’ve used polenta as a pizza crust before (also from Clean Start) which was good, but I felt it took longer than I wanted to make.  I’m sure leftover millet plus egg , a little cheese and herbs would work pretty well – maybe topped with some sort of kale and roast veggies, yum!   Happy cooking.

4 thoughts on “My Favorite Millet Recipes

  1. never tried millet before but definitely quinoa – in fact, i had it at lunch today! I’m hoping to try out the black bean burger tomorrow night. I was originally planning to try making tofu burger, but this is even better…. thanks for saving me a trip tomorrow to buy tofu haha

Leave a Reply

