Easy Brown Rice Nori Rolls

Growing up, my mom made vegetarian sushi with carrots, cucumbers and avocado all the time.  I’m not sure when or why my parents started eating it, since I don’t recall sushi being a big trend in the 80’s, but I’m not complaining! Since then I’ve always loved sushi, but most of the time David and I like to eat sushi at restaurants because we find it a pain to make at home, not to mention that sushi-grade fish is expensive to buy. However, because I was following the Crazy Sexy Diet for a week, veggie Nori Rolls were on my list of recipes to try.   

My mom usually makes sushi with sticky white rice, so it was fun to use sweet, chewy brown rice for a change.  I also liked the addition of sprouts and tahini spread, something I wouldn’t have thought to add.  Oh, and I really liked just cutting the roll in half – much less messy if you don’t have the right sushi equipment.

DSCN0701

Easy Brown Rice Nori Rolls (serves 4-5, from nhershoes and originally from Kris Carr’s Crazy Sexy Diet) 

  • Cooked brown short grain rice (I used 1 cup dry)
  • Nori Sheets
  • Thinly sliced: carrots, cucumber, avocado, sprouts, scallions
  • Spread: tahini mixed with lemon juice 
  • Dipping sauce: soy/tamari mixed with freshly grated ginger or lemon

Spread the tahini spread on the nori sheets, followed by brown rice, then veggies.  Wrap tightly Smile  No fancy equipment needed; you could use sushi mats but I didn’t.  I did use a little water on my finger tips to seal the rolls before cutting in half. 

DSCN0695DSCN0698DSCN0699

The best thing is husbands and kids like rolling this kind of stuff, so I had a helper!

DSCN0703

This made 10-12 very filling rolls that we swerved with seaweed salad; we could only eat 3 halves each for dinner.  I packed the rest with leftover grilled tempeh for our lunches the following day.  Most definitely a keeper!

photo (9)

Leave a Reply

