Saying Bye to Hawaii

Our last day in Kona started with a quick 3 miler on Ali’i drive.  It’s part of the Kona Ironman run, and I felt just a little wimpy only doing 3 out of the 140.6 miles.  But hey, every little mile counts!

DSCN0636

We got post-run smoothies for the walk back to the hotel, and I was very sad when I found out they didn’t have kale so I couldn’t get a green smoothie, darn.

DSCN0644

This little guy greeted us at the hotel beach when we returned:

DSCN0648

We had to be at the airport at noon, so after packing up, we hit up a coffee farm for a short tour & tastings, but it wasn’t as exciting as the yelpers had described it.  Maybe because I’m not much of a coffee drinker anymore?  Anyway, the silver lining was stopping at Rebel Kitchen on the drive back towards the airport.  I had a heaping grilled veggie salad with avocado & feta, and David really liked his Jerk-Spiced Chicken sandwich.

DSCN0659

We walked down the street since we were intrigued by “Chocolate Covered Donkey Balls” sign, and I don’t turn down a little chocolate after a meal.  The balls were… a bit big!  I’d recommend just sticking with regular sized dark chocolate covered mac nuts.  I felt like I O.D.’ed on sugar after just one of these.  Luckily my sweet-toothed husband didn’t mind devouring the rest.

DSCN0660

After an awesome Big Island adventure, we arrived safely back in Oahu for two very windy and slightly rainy days.  David and my Dad got some good kitesurfing in while my mom and I had some mother-daughter time shopping.  I couldn’t help but end the trip at my favorite store on earth.

DSCN0665

I hadn’t yet been to Whole Foods in Kailua, so we stopped there to meet the boys for lunch after a windy morning session.  One happy girl with her Texas-sized salad bar mix:

DSCN0666

We flew home that evening; it’s always so sad to say bye to my mom & dad!  I absolutely love visiting; I just wish we could more often.  Both David and I really enjoy our time with my parents.  Aloha Hawaii – hope to see you again soon!!

Leave a Reply

