Volcano Fireworks for New Year’s Eve

This post is a couple days overdue since we didn't have internet in the park, but happy New Years to all! Hope you had a fun way to celebrate!

Continuing on our Big Island trip, our first destination was Volcano National Park, where we'd be staying at the Kileau Military Camp (my dad is retired Air Force) in the park. We checked in and also stopped by the visitor center to chat with a park ranger and get advice on volcano conditions and hikes.

After getting settled at our little lodge, we hit an easy hiking trail to see the steam vents and views of the Halema’uma’u Crater, which is currently active.

The trail was probably a little over a mile of walking, but it felt great after being in the car all day.

Discussing steam vents. They actually smelled like pasta when you drain it – delicious!

David was so excited he almost peed his pants!

My mom, who loves to teach science is enjoying such a science-heavy trip too!

Oh, just a lovely walk through the steam.

There are such cool plants and flowers here – the wild orchids are a favorite.

There is a little bee in this one!

We continued our exploring and while checking out the rest of the camp we found a bowling alley! We couldn't resist a little NYE bowl. Normally I hate bowling because I'm so bad and hadn't played in years, but I was up for a silly game. I was jealous of David's flaming shoes!

It was Lava Lady (me) and Flaming Dave versus my parents, Crater Gregg and Steamy.

Dad in deep concentration.

Good thing I was on David's team, because he got FOUR strikes in a row, a first for him even though he did take bowling in college.

Breaking 80 was good for me ๐Ÿ™‚ All that bowling made us thirsty so we headed to the Lava Lounge for beer, none other than Kona Lavaman Red Ale. The pints were generous and it was really good. So good that my dad was even country dancing after two.

David and I did a couple two steps and got cheers from the bar (he's a great dancer), then we put my favorite line dance Copperhead Road on the jukebox and had fun dancing to it. I love my dancing man!

Dinner was naturally next, and we'd heard great things about the Thai restaurant in Volcano Village. It didn't disappoint! It was a little weird being separated by a pole though.

I got my fave Thai green curry with tofu and it was excellent. Lots of fresh veggies and very spicy. I'd highly recommend this restaurant, but note that it's one of the few options in town, so get there early.

We ended our night as planned by a trip to the Jagger museum in the park where you can see the glow from the Halema’uma’u Crater; it’s the same crater we saw earlier that day. I couldn't capture it in a picture, but the night was clear, and seeing the eruption with such an amazing night sky plus the Milky Way in the background was better than any fireworks show I could have paid for!

It might seem like a boring NYE to some, but I couldn't have asked for a more unique and fun night with steam vents, bowling, country dancing, Thai food, volcanoes and stars. Here's for a great 2013!

 

2 thoughts on “Volcano Fireworks for New Year’s Eve

  1. wow, that was anything BUT boring! Looked like a terrific way to spend NYE. I went to Yellowstone National Park 2 summers ago – lots of cool geysers there. The steam vents on your trip reminded me of them ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

