Water Bloggin’

If you’re like me, swimming fast doesn’t feel natural.  I’m working really hard to figure out what “gliding through the water” feels like, and though I’ve made progress over the past couple of months, I still have a ways to go.  A little while ago, I got a comment from The Water Blogged Triathlete, who offered to answer any swimming questions I had – well of course!  I have lots of questions, but my main issue is that I’m off balance and rotation on either side feels different (I can tell during drills).  The Water Blogger girls were kind enough to give me a bunch of responses; you can see them here.  I’ve tried a few of them and think that my issue is likely this:

Body Extension. Everyone has a strong side and a weak side when they swim. A side they are more comfortable breathing to. What can happen when breathing or rotating to the weak side is a collapse through the side where the head can lift during the breath rotation, causing the hip to collapse. Concentrate on keeping long though the spin and not, as I tell the young children I coach, “scrunching up their sides” and twisting to breathe. Make sure you train and get comfortable breathing to both sides, focusing on your non-dominant side.

Still, I’m not certain and unsure how to correct this, so I’m taking the girls’ advice and getting a free video taping by a local swim shop this weekend (score!).  I’ll keep you updated as to what my imbalance is, but in the meantime, if you have any swim questions of your own, I highly recommend visiting The Water Blogged Triathlete as they were very kind and gave a wealth of their swimming advice!

And if you haven’t had enough swimming, here’s a good routine I enjoyed this week:

  • 400 w/u, 200 kick w/ fins
  • 200 drill
  • 4 x 50 work on form
  • 3 x 100 descending 1 to 3
  • 200 build
  • 200 (easy 50, sprint 50, repeat)
  • 100 c/d

Ok, time to enjoy FRIDAY! 

3 thoughts on “Water Bloggin’

  1. Reblogged this on The Water Blogged Triathlete and commented:
    We got some great feedback from Brittany after answering her question about why she might sink when she breathes. She has narrowed it down the the “scrunching” comment that Vicky suggested. While learning to swim via the internet is not ideal, we hope we can help her fix it after she gets her stroke video taped:

  2. Thanks for the feedback! It is great that you’ve been able to narrow it down to the scrunching issue. I wanted to offer to critique your stroke once you have it on video. If you’re able to put it on youtube or your blog, we’d be better able to guide you towards correcting it.

Leave a Reply

