Swim Sprints

I really had to PULL myself to some workouts this week.  Luckily I have a training partner that keeps me in check.  In other words, if I find out David’s done a workout, then I can’t skip it or I feel like a slacker.  I always ask David “Did you swim at lunch?”; if he did then I know I have to go to swim practice in the evening!  

Speaking of swim practice, here’s a good 1900m workout for those of you who just love sprinting like me (sense some sarcasm?).   Whatever the case, this will get your lungs working:

  • 400 warm up
  • 200 kick with fins
  • 4 x 50 build with fins (build means build speed during the length)
  • 2 x 100, rotation drills: (25m rotate body, 25m 1-arm pull, 50m free)
  • 2 x 100: 25 easy, 25 sprint <rest> 25 sprint, 25 easy <rest>  50 @ 80% <rest>  50 sprint
  • 200 easy
  • 200 negative split for time (1st 100m @ 80%, 2nd 100 build to a sprint)
  • 100 cool down

As much as I dislike swim sprints, I’ve noticed a difference in my breathing and heart rate in general.  I’m not sure if it’s from swimming, but I can definitely run faster without getting as winded.  It feels good!

On to food – I’m glad you some of you liked the Hummus Scramble – egg scrambles are a weekly dinner for us Smile  And to leave you with a sweet idea for breakfast, here’s a nice cold summer breakfast that you don’t have to plan – a quick muslei of sorts.  I mix quick oats (raw oats tend to hurt my tummy), cereal, fruit, nuts and greek yogurt, then top it with honey and milk.  Mixed up it’s not so beautiful, but it’s so delicious.   Ok – off to watch the Olympics & enjoy Friday pasta night at the Breaux house!

IMG_2501

IMG_2503

6 thoughts on “Swim Sprints

  1. Your swim workout looks good to me. I just started a blog that focuses on swimming and swim training for triathlons. It has some recipes on it too. Check it out and keep up your training!

      1. Hi Brittany, I received your question today and wanted to let you know we already have a few theories. One of our bloggers has an open water race today, so I’m going to wait to hear from her before posting our complete response. I’ll contact you when it is up. Thanks for sending us a question!

      2. Actually, it isn’t a weird question at all – you’d be surprised how common it is! We’ve posted our response on our blog and can’t wait to see how it works for you. Feel free to ask more questions if you have any and follow our site for more swim advice, etc.

  2. My pleasure! I can tell you’re comfortable in the water and currently a lot of the info on our blog is geared toward beginning swimmers. We’re trying to build a good base of information before getting too crazy… However, everyone working on my blog swam D1 in college and we’d be happy to answer any questions you might think of about swimming or water workouts if you feel like throwing anything our way.

Leave a Reply

