Hummus Egg Scramble

We eat a lot of eggs around here.  So when PBFingers gave me the idea of Hummus Scrambled Eggs, I was all over it.  I made our usual Egg Scrambles, and threw in some hummus at the end.  It gave it a great kick of flavor.

IMG_2487

It’s pretty simple: 

  • 1/2T oil (I use Safflower or Sunflower)
  • Veggies/greens of choice (here it was carrots and broccoli rabe)
  • 1 egg + 2-3 egg whites
  • Hummus
  • Toppings: Avocado, Sriracha Sauce

Sauté veggies in oil; cook onions or carrots first; if you’re using kale put it in last.  Whisk eggs with fork then pour over veggies and scramble.  Add in some hummus to taste near the end – a couple big spoonfuls for me.  Topped with avocado, and served with Udi’s millet bread; you can’t go wrong.  I like to add a little Sriracha or Salsa to give it some spice too.

IMG_2485

What I love about egg scrambles, is you can clean out any veggies in your fridge.  And I love a good fridge cleaning.  My normal combo is onion, zucchini, broccoli and kale, but the carrots & broccoli rabe combo worked really well with hummus.  I like using different types of onions too – shallots, green onions, leeks.  Try it, you won’t be disappointed!

Leave a Reply

