Still Alive and Kickin’!

Yeah I’m still here, just a brief hiatus.  I’m resting up now for my Sylvan Beach triathlon on Sunday.  I feel pretty prepared, apart from having done ZERO bricks, again – ugh.

On the bright side, I feel good about my swimming.  I’ve been to Lake 288 for open water swims most Fridays (the fact that I’m getting a tan and enjoying the outdoors while I workout is a great incentive to go!).  Plus I’ve joined a tri swim training club – looove having a coach to give me swim direction.  Way better than just freestyle on my own!  Our coach kicked my butt last Wednesday, our workout went:

  • 400m warm up
  • 200m kick with fins & board
  • 3 x 100m drills (with arm extended for 6, 4, then 2 second intervals)
  • ??m builds (first 25m slow, next 25m sprint)
  • 3 x 200m, odd lengths easy, even lengths tempo
  • 100m sprint (1:55 min/100m for me)
  • 100m cool down

Total was somewhere around 2500m, I just can’t remember all of the drills!  I think my little legs were kicking hard during the sprints, because my shoulders AND quads were surprisingly a bit sore the next day.  Not all the swim workouts are so tempo-focused.  At on of the practices, the coach timed us to see how long we could go for 20 minutes – I did 850m, which comes to 2:21min/100m (writing this down for my own memory!).

In other news, I signed up for the Houston Marathon in January – what am I thinking?!  I don’t know, but my friend, Jen, who is slightly faster and great to train with, is going to do it, so I thought why not?  David and I decided we’ll train for it unless we get injured.  Then we’ll drop down to the half, NBD.  We also plan to run the Dallas Half with Laura & Bryan again; they changed the course this year and we have high hopes it won’t rain like last year.  And shoot, if we do Dallas in December and Houston in January, maybe we need to do the Austin Half in Feb??  Winking smile

Speaking of running, I’m eyeing these – pretty cute, huh?  Usually I get the Wave Inspire with more support, but I might make an exception since I love the bright color here.

I’ll leave you with a few food pictures from the past week.  Baked stuffed [local] chicken with goat cheese and sun dried tomatoes.  Two thumbs up from the hubby; recipe here.

And a big ole salad with crispy tofu & sparking water.  Had to clean out my system after a date night with great food – and one glass too many of wine – at Zelko Bistro in the Heights.  Winking smile

Leave a Reply

