Swimmingly

Wow, so many good things about this week!  I don’t know which is the best.  Work was busy, but I managed to get in a lot of workouts – 3 swims, 2 bikes, 2 runs and 2 body pumps! Stellar.  It required a few early mornings, but I did it and felt good.

For someone that generally avoids swimming, 3 swims was a really good swim week – what happened you ask?  It started off with an early morning 1500m swim on Monday at the Y, but was kind of disappointed with how crowded it was.  So I decided to take the plunge and try out group tri swim training at Dad’s Swim Club on Wed evening, and I LOVED it. First, it was a outdoor 50m facility – the longer distance felt great (more applicable to tris too) and I really enjoyed being outside. Second, having a coach to plan your workout is awesome; the hour went by surprisingly fast. Third, I got to swim in an uncrowded lane with some really nice girls.

After being pumped up on my swim training, I decided Friday I’d try my first open water training swim at Lake 288 in South Houston.  I was a little nervous going on my own, but I sucked it up and arrived at a beautiful setting (I just loved the palm trees and huts):

I couldn’t think of a better way to spend a warm Friday afternoon than jumping in the water!  It was a great set up – sandy beach entrance with  a “perimeter 800m” or “triangle 500m” option.

I swam 1,000m continuously (2 x triangle route) with an average of 2:25/100m.  While I know it wasn’t fast, it was a huge confidence builder to swim continuously and feel good afterwards.  It made Olympic distances go from “scary” to “doable”.  So for those that are scared of open water swims, I highly recommend going to a lake training at some point – I wish I’d have known earlier!

After a quick breather & stretch, I swam 500m more, then headed home for dinner.  Mmm, dinner: slow cooker chicken tacos that I’d started before I left.  It made for a great Mexican flavored meal with some avocado, cilantro, cheese & brown rice tortillas.  This was my first time to use the slow cooker and it was AWE-some.  Who doesn’t love coming home to a cooked meal?

Anyway, as if this week wasn’t good enough already, I got to try out my *new* Kona jersey (birthday present from my parents in Hawaii).  I’m thinking my father-in-law that likes Longboarder and biking will be jealous of this jersey Winking smile

Lastly, I also got some great girl time in on a Sunday 7-mile morning run with my friend Amanda, then joined her later in the week for wine & the Bachelorette, where we thoroughly enjoyed laughing at the silly guys on the show.

Overall a great Spring week here in Texas.  Stay tuned for the IMTX Spectator Recap soon!

3 thoughts on “Swimmingly

  1. What a Fantastic week!! Koodos to you for pushing yourself to get out there and get some workouts in. I have never tried open water swim. Something about swimming in a lake still doesn’t get me overly excited. I too don’t prefer swimming. I choose biking and running any day! I have to force myself to the pool each time. Lucky for me, chlorine finally ate thru my googles last mth. Now I have an excuse not to go! But its summer, I guess its time to get new ones and hit the pool. I love your jersey btw, very unique colours on it.

    1. Thank you! It was a great week 🙂 I totally understand feeling forced to go swimming. Surprisingly the tri swim training and the lake swim were really fun and I’m looking forward to doing them both again this week!

Leave a Reply

