Still Here!

I know, I’ve pretty much fallen off the face of the blog earth lately, but I’m still here!  We’ve been enjoying newlywed life, and I’ve been bad about prioritizing my blog time.  We are just loving being at home and spending time together Smile  Anyway here are some of the topics that have been going on in my life lately:

Dehydrating!

I also enjoyed playing with my new Christmas present, the dehydrator.  Here are some spicy kale chips – which are totally addicting:

IMG_1543IMG_1545

And macaroons & buckwheat granola – both from the Choosing Raw blog, a great resource for dehy recipes.

IMG_1547IMG_1553

I’ll post more about dehydrating later; it’s super easy, but just takes some time to plan since dehydrating in a humid place like Houston takes 12 hours or so.  David’s favorite is dried kiwis – I don’t have a picture of them because they disappear too fast.

Athletics

As usual, David and I have signed up for too many athletic events in the near future – the MS150, Texas Independence Relay, and CB&I Tri to name a few.  In Jan & Feb, we focused on getting some of our endurance back in running & biking, and now in March we are really amping it up!  We’ve had some really wet/muddy bike rides (check out my face!), and way too many early morning runs.

download

My workout routine is getting there. I haven’t added swimming, but for now my week includes 1 long run, 1 long bike ride, 2 x body pump sessions, 2 short runs, 1 short bike ride, and I’m aiming for at least 1 gentle yoga session.  We’re up to 10 mile runs and 70 mile bike rides without injury, so I think that’s pretty good.

We ran in the ConocoPhillips Rodeo Run 10K in February and both PR’ed!  David got 45:02 (7:14/mi) and I got 51:52 (8:20/mi).

Untitled

 

Cooking/Diet

I enjoyed cooking healthy once again after eating out so much on vacation.  Here’s a random goat cheese/quinoa/greens/red pepper recipe from KathEats.

IMG_1550

I also LOVE my new Zojirushi rice cooker (also a very generous wedding present).  It has a timer and even a porridge setting, so I use it very often to cook steel cut oats in the morning – I just set the timer for 6 AM and they are done right on time!

IMG_1556

Although the dish above is pretty vegetarian, I’ve started to add a lot more animal protein into my diet again.  I went through a phase of low energy and my nails have been brittle, so I’m upping my intake of lean meats, Greek yogurt, and fish.  Just listening to my body!  Still eating tons of greens though – David and I love our green smoothies, especially with some avocado thrown in to make it more of a green pudding.

IMG_1557

 

Being Mrs. Breaux

I love it!  My first name change was at work, and now it’s official, license and all.

download (2)

Breaux is pronounced “bro”, so it’s pretty cool!

Other than some exhausting weekends, we’re enjoying being around the house like I said earlier.  Even playing some Nintendo every once in awhile.

IMG_1558IMG_1568

Leave a Reply

