Finding my Inner Adrenaline Junkie

Greetings everyone!  I’m actually back in Houston by now, home from our fabulously long honeymoon.  But before getting back into the swing of things, I have a few more New Zealand & Hawaii posts to go.  I have a cool one on Bungy jumping that you’ll have to wait for later since I still need to upload the pictures.

Ok, back to New Zealand:  Our last few days were spent in Queenstown.  We were enjoying our hostel and loved cooking our breakfasts and dinners.  Breakfast was oats, Manuka Honey (amazing!), raspberries, nut butter and banana.

The weather was supposed to be rainy, but we lucked out with an overcast day, so we opted for a hike.  We chose the nearby Mt. Crichton Loop track that was on the way to Glenorchy.  It was an old miner trail, was well maintained, and was going to take 2-4 hours, sounded great.  We drove 10 minutes to the trailhead and set out on the hike.

The hike was really enjoyable – it followed a stream, showed some old gold mining areas and even an old miner’s house, and offered some scenic views.  We were both almost past being sick, so this was a great easy hike and was a nice little workout.

Such a poser…

We got to the lookout point and halved a White Choc Macadamia Nut Clif Bar – new fave flavor!

Around noon we drove back to town and grabbed some so-so crepes at a crepe stand, then wandered through town in search of an adventure activity.  Our first stop was fully booked (canyon swing + jet boat), so we stumbled upon “The World’s Largest Swing” and after much self debate, I decided I sort of wanted to do it.  Adrenaline junkie maybe?

We were bused out to the site, which was a suspended hut over a very deep canyon.  It’s also right next to the Nevis Bungy – worlds tallest bungy at 134m.

142071

Not much to cushion the fall below.

Should I really do this?

It was no sweat for David.

We were the first couple up, so we didn’t get to see anyone else go, and I had no idea what to expect.  We chose to sit forward/backward so we could face one anther.  They got us into full body harnesses that were rather loose, then started connecting us to the swing with carabineers.

David loves this scared-smile look.

AJHB_AJNA_2012_01_12_C1037_3383

I didn’t want to inch much farther out, and the guy kept having me get closer to the ledge.  I told David “I don’t know if I can do this” and he just said “well, you’re already strapped in”.  So that was that.

They have you step over the ledge to where you’re just sitting in a swing above a huge canyon.  Scared sh*tless.

AJHB_AJNA_2012_01_12_C1037_3387

David even admitted he was a little scared on this one since our harnesses seemed so loose.  Another scared smile:

AJHB_AJNA_2012_01_12_C2037_3384

I have no idea what the operator said, but suddenly the a clicking noise occured and the ropes went slack.

AJHB_AJNA_2012_01_12_C1037_3389

All I can do is open my mouth as wide as possible and scream.  I think David later told me my face “looked huge”.

AJHB_AJNA_2012_01_12_C2037_3388

I went from sitting vertically to flailing out horizontally in a spread eagle fashion.  It was about 7 second of free fall before we actually started the swing.

AJHB_AJNA_2012_01_12_C2037_3390

AJHB_AJNA_2012_01_12_C2037_3391

That little dot is us!

AJHB_AJNA_2012_01_12_C3037_3385

You get the picture.

AJHB_AJNA_2012_01_12_C4037_3386

It was awesome, maybe my favorite day.

I have no idea why, but I loved the rush!  Very cool feeling.

The operators weren’t so nice to the next couple going.  After they were suspended he said “Want a countdown?”, she said “yes”, then instead of a countdown they just dropped them.  The look on her face was great.

After all the excitement had worn off, we headed back to town and roasted corn, chicken and cheers-ed with some NZ beers.  Great way to end it.

 

Leave a Reply

