The Breaux-mance Honeymoon: Auckland

Hello!!  I know, I’ve been MIA recently, but for good reason.  I’m finally a wife!  Our wedding was just a week ago and it was more amazing than I could have ever imagined.  It was in my parents’ backyard in Hawaii and really was magical.   I’ll write some proper posts when I get home and get our professional pictures.

Anyway, now we’re on the honeymoon – we chose to travel to New Zealand since it’s David’s favorite country and I had never been.  We set the trip up ourselves with some strenuous (“red”) days of hiking and trekking and some relaxing (“green”) days at wineries or spas.

The day after our wedding we took the red eye into Auckland; David gave me a sleeping pill, which totally made me feel like I was taking drugs!  Anyway, it worked; I was out for a good 6 hours on the plane, and by the time I woke up it was 2012.  We had to go without breakfast since someone on the plane had thrown up in the food prep area – gross.

Fresh off the plane, we made it through an arduous customs process, and got our little rental car.  I was very happy that David took over driver responsibilities and was comfortable driving on the left hand side of the road.  Upon arriving in Auckland, we stopped at the first open café we could find (most were closed for the New Year Day holiday) and grabbed breakfast.  I had a veggie omelette and David scarfed down a huge pile of French toast while we planned our day using the free wifi.

PC310073PC310072

David had a great idea of taking the hop-on, hop-off bus around the city since it was a gray/rainy day.  I was reluctant at first, but it turned out to be a wonderful idea!  Here I am on the way to the Ferry Building to catch the bus.

PC310075

We first stopped at Mission Bay, a Memorial with a good view of downtown and a nice walk to get to the beach.  Newlyweds:

IMG_0622

David playing around:

IMG_0627IMG_0628IMG_0629

Next, was my favorite stop – the Parnell Rose Gardens.  The roses smelled SO good, and I got to play with David’s fancy pants camera.  David in the trees:

PC310077

Rose pictures:

IMG_0637 - CopyIMG_0644 - CopyIMG_0646IMG_0650IMG_0652IMG_0664

While taking lots of pictures, our hunger built, so we stopped in Parnell, a quaint Auckland suburb for some seafood restaurant.  It was NZ Green Mussels for David and a smoked salmon salad for me.

IMG_0672

We caught the bus again around 3 PM and made our way back to our trendy hotel downtown.

PC310080

Our second day in Auckland was spent on the Island of Waiheke, but unfortunately it was fairly dreary out still.  We hit up a few wineries, but missed the “magic” that Waiheke is known for on sunny days.  NZ is having unseasonably rainy weather at the moment, but we are hoping for it to clear up by the time we get to the south island.

One thought on “The Breaux-mance Honeymoon: Auckland

  1. Looks like you are having a great time. Elise and Mike leave this morning and the house seems too empty already. I’m glad you enjoyed the wedding, so did we. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for more sunshine your way!

    Mom

Leave a Reply

