Fall CSA Update

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted about our Fall CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) shares from Wood Duck Farm, but they’ve been wonderful.  I’ve just had a hard time keeping up with them due to all our travel this fall.  If you’re in the Houston area, definitely check the farm out and let me know if you have any questions!

This week’s share included kale, salad mix, micro greens, tomatoes, bell pepper, butternut squash, sweet potatoes and Satsuma citrus fruits (like Clementines).  I ❤ kale!

PB160067

This fall we’ve received a lot of sweet potatoes and salad mix (a staple of our CSA, which I love), as well as grapefruit, persimmons, zucchini, cucumbers, eggplant, mustard greens, green beans, portabella mushrooms, spaghetti squash, and yellow squash.

The variety has been amazing!  I understand the fruits/veggies aren’t all from one farm, but the farms trade sometimes to get variety.  I also just found out that they will be offering a winter CSA Feb – April with “cold hardy crops such as cauliflower, carrots, kale, purple kohlrabi, cilantro, salad mix, broccoli, citrus, etc.”  I love my seasons, and since Houston doesn’t have significantly different seasons, this makes me feel seasonal Smile

On a different and random note, I’m sitting here drinking a coconut water while blogging.  I’m sure I’ve mentioned it before but coconut water is quite possibly one of the best drinks ever.  I highly recommend Naked brand (only found at my beloved Whole Foods).

PB170070

For some reason this is the most hydrating stuff ever!  I’ve done a lot of endurance activities – Century rides in Houston heat, long runs – and this is the only stuff that really rehydrates me afterwards.  It’s also a ritual for us to drink one on the way to the airport since it’s a great way to get hydrated before a long plane ride.

This week’s workouts have included the usual 2x Body Pump per week as well as a track workout and a spin class.  We have a long run planned for the weekend, plus wedding activities (bridal dress fitting, registry making).  I can’t lie that I’m a little nervous for the dress fitting, I want it to look great!

Leave a Reply

