CSA Updates Plus Master’s Workout #2

I know, totally unoriginal title, but I’m doing a weekly recap and those are the two main topics.  My soon-to-be mother-in-law, Mrs. Breaux asked me the other day something to the affect of “are you still into cooking, or is tri taking over?”  Well, the training does make cooking tougher and I think David is hearing “you’re on your own for dinner” a lot more often, but I’ve still been eating healthy and working a few homemade meals in.

Last week I made one of my usual kale/tofu/brown rice pasta bakes which last for many meals to come.

And my meal of choice lately has been brown rice tortilla (Garden of Life I think?).  Just microwave them with a wet paper towel and they work pretty well.  I stir fry veggies with olive oil and sometimes a little worcesteshire sauce then top with a veggie burger and maybe a drizzle of balsamic.  We call these goodwiches.

As always more of the same GGB (Grain-Green-Bean) meals, with sweet potato being pretty popular with me lately.

And of course, I should update you on my Fall CSA.  It’s been fab lately!  Last week’s was a particularly large share that included a spaghetti squash.  I made a baked spaghetti squash with ground beef lasagna-style dish, but I can’t say it was my favorite.  Good, but the squash left me hungry for real pasta.

This week’s share was very zucchini heavy – I’m thinking some zucchini muffins are in my future.

Ok enough on food… more importantly I’ve gone tri-crazy and signed up for one more tri on Halloween weekend!  It’s the Katy Firethorne Triathlon.  A 500m swim (my longest yet!), 16 mile bike ride, 3 mile run.  I’m doing this one solo since David will be partying it up in Vegas for his Bachelor Party that weekend.  So I’m continuing with training; my goal is to get 2 swims, 2-3 runs, 2 Body Pumps, and 1-2 bike rides in each week.  Running is heavy now since I’m still training for the Dallas Half.  This week didn’t go so well for biking since we have a lot going on.  I did attend my second master’s swim class last week and it was HARD.  Even in the slow lane.  The workout was as follows:

  • 400m warm up
  • 10 x 50m at 1:10
  • 8 x 75m; 2 at 1:45, 2 at 1:40, 2 at 1:35, 2 at 1:30  <—- this killed me!
  • 5 x 50 easy working on technique
  • 9 x 50m at 1:10 progressively faster each time

I was definitely cramping up at the end.  And asking myself, why did you sign up for another tri in the midst of peak wedding planning?  Yes, I had a realization this week that our wedding is only 2 months out and there is still lots to do.  Luckily David is here to calm me down as usual.  I’m sure there will be more to come on that later, but this weekend we’ll be focusing on someone else’s wedding – our friend, Monique, is getting married in Central Park, NY!  We are taking advantage of the weekend trip and doing our long (12 mile) run in Central Park tomorrow morning.  You’ll hear more on this soon!

Leave a Reply

