Fabulous Fall Run

I finally had a really great run this morning that went exactly as I planned.  I paced myself based on heart rate and how I felt and ended up with a negative split and a pace of <9:00 min/mile.  This definitely was a good change from last week’s upset of a race!

I start off early in the morning with a big glass of lemon water, and before runs I really like to eat Van’s GF waffles (2 mini waffles for shorter runs or 2 regular sized waffles for longer runs) topped with nut butter.  I start out running with water and like to switch to half and half sports drink at about 45 minutes to an hour.  This time I used a Nuun hydration tab in my water since I felt like I needed more fluids and it worked pretty well.

The temperature was 64 deg when we left the house – perfect running weather.  Slightly chilly when starting, but cool enough during the run.

I let David run ahead with the fast group this time, so that I could focus on getting a good negative split.  I started off the run with my HR at 150 -160 bpm in mile 1-2, then left it at 160-165 bpm through mile 4.5.  For the last half, I kept it 165-170 bpm through mile 7, then pushed it for the last 2 miles, keeping it upwards of 170.  I was really happy with the results, right where I wanted to be!

image

The chart is difficult to see, but it shows my pace going down at the end and HR going up.  I think 180 bpm was the max.

Splits were as follows:

  • Mile 1: 9:22
  • Mile 2: 9:02
  • Mile 3: 9:11
  • Mile 4: 8:49
  • Mile 5: 8:59
  • Mile 6: 8:53
  • Mile 7: 9:45 <— rest stop here.. guess I took too long to take my GU
  • Mile 8: 8:27
  • Mile 9: 7:53 <— oh yeah!

I was pretty happy since this puts me on track for the Dallas Half; I just have to run 4 more miles at a 9 minute pace and have over a month to do that.  The Garmin also says I burned 1376 calories, which seems like a lot, but must be due to the high heart rate??  Either way, I rewarded myself with a huge bowl of oats/oat bran/egg/protein powder/bananas with raspberries, walnuts, and coconut butter drizzled on top!  That’s a mouth full, but it was delicious.  Of course, coconut butter drizzled on anything makes it good.

Tomorrow is our Sprint Triathlon (Try Andy’s).  I know, it makes total sense to run 9 miles fast instead of rest, right?!  It gave me an excuse to get a massage though Smile  So I’m off to get my massage then rest up the remainder of the day.

Leave a Reply

