2011 Ten for Texas

Sorry for the delay in posts – last weekend my mom was in town and this week I’ve been at a conference for work, so things have been busy!  I absolutely loved having my mom around – we spent some time wedding planning and just hanging out.  She also got to spend some time with David’s parents while David and I ran the Ten for Texas.  They were so nice to take her to breakfast while we were running!

Speaking of the run, it was not one of my best.  I woke up pretty refreshed, and ready to race!  David was going to run with me and pace me.  The first 5 miles went pretty well at a 9:00 min/mile pace, but then I became overheated and pretty frustrated.  I don’t know why, but I’m not as mentally strong when racing with David next to me.  I kept stopping and walking.  It must be one of those things like when your spouse tries to coach you in a sport – it just doesn’t work!  Even though David is the best coach ever and extremely calm and encouraging, my past three races with David by my side have been extremely frustrating and my pace has not been as good as I think it could be (Turkey Trot, Austin Half & Ten for Texas).  For some reason I can’t get in “the zone” because I’m just worried I’m disappointing him the whole time.

Anyway, we were rolling in for about a 1:31 time (in 2010 my time was 1:29:28, 8:57/mile, and I had wanted to beat it), when David slowed and didn’t feel good.  We ended up walking the last half mile and got him to a medical tent, but they couldn’t find anything wrong with him.  We decided we’d just take it easy the rest of the day, so we went home and took a quick nap and he felt better afterwards.  Our time was somewhere around 1:35 with the walking.

I waved and smiled at all of the cameras along the way, but they only got some finish line shots!

6631620_t26634592_t2

If you are interested in this race for next year, the pros are – well organized, tech shirt + hat, decent party afterwards with good food & country band, while the cons are – monotonous course with lots of trees, tech shirts not in women’s sizes.

In other news, I’m continuing training for Try Andy’s Tri this weekend.  While my training has been more sporadic this week due to being away from the office, here is the recap:

  • Saturday – 10 for Texas, (10 mile run)
  • Sunday – Rain prevented my planned bike, so indoor trainer for 1 hour, with intervals at targeted HR while watching the Kona Ironman online, abs
  • Monday – Body Pump + 1 hr bike at Picnic Loop, intervals w/ David, abs
  • Tuesday – Track Workout with Houston Fit, 8 x 60/60s, abs
  • Wednesday – Body Pump, short abs
  • Thursday – Master’s Swim
  • Friday – REST!

The this weekend we have an 11 mile run on Saturday and our tri on Sunday.

Also, we started getting our Fall CSA (from Wood Duck Farm) again – it’s amazing!  Here’s a peek at this week’s share.  We have tons of greens and salad items in our fridge now, so I’m making lots of jumbo salads (Grain/Green/Bean) for dinner lately.

PA120074

Ok, off to clean then get ready for Master’s swimming!  Hope to get some tips on open water sighting tonight.

Leave a Reply

