Fall Equinox 2011

Happy First Day of Fall!  Or at least I’ll claim that; Wikipedia has the real explanation of the Autumnal Equinox here.  Though I’d been hankering for pumpkin all month, it seemed like I should wait until fall to open a can.  I’ll admit I’m pretty picky about what pumpkin I get; I don’t like extra sugar or really any other ingredients except organic pumpkin.  This brand from Whole Foods Market fits the bill:

P9220094

Here are the nutritional stats in case you were curious; good fiber and carbs:

P9220095

I was hoping for a nice, brisk morning to give me that cozy fall feeling, but I’m pretty sure the temperature reading was 74 degrees!  Oh well.  I made ahead some steel cut oats the night before then plopped in some pumpkin, spice and maple syrup before warming it up.

P9220100

I have to say steel cut oats & pumpkin wasn’t my favorite mix; plus, in retrospect this looks like a bowl of chili almost!  Not worried though, that just means more pumpkin experimenting to do.  Happy Fall day everyone!

2 thoughts on “Fall Equinox 2011

Leave a Reply

