Must-Have Green Recipes

Happy Friday readers!  I’m doing well and had a quick week that included a very hot hill workout on Tuesday, planning & booking all our New Zealand honeymoon hotels/air/cars, and prepping for having some friends over this weekend.  While I was whipping up some green recipes during the week, I realized I may not have posted my two favorite ones.  Check out below for my two must have green recipes!

If you haven’t yet tried a green smoothie, you must!  It’s a great way to start the day.  I’ve put a few recipes up, but here is the most basic, and tastiest according to David.  My preferences are in parentheses:

Basic Breakfast Green Monster
1 c milk (Almond Breeze Unsweetened)
1/2 scoop protein powder (RAW)
1/3 c rolled oats
1 handful frozen strawberries
1/2 banana, fresh or frozen
2 hanfuls fresh spinach
1 T flax seed
1/2-1 scoop Green Powder (optional)

1. Put oats in blender and cover with milk.  Soak in fridge overnight.
2. Add any additional milk needed to reach 1 cup mark on blender (or estimate 1 cup).  Add all other ingredients and blend.  I often add them in batches since my blender doesn’t do all of them at once.
3. Top with granola, berries or other crunchy treats

Notes:

  • A fresh banana makes the smoothie more creamy, while a frozen one makes it more “smoothie-like”.
  • If you don’t want oats, you can leave them out, or if you don’t want to take the time to soak them, just use quick oats.
  • Any other berries can be substituted; though raspberries can give a bit of a tart taste.
  • Kale or other greens can be subbed for spinach, but spinach is mildest tasting, and kale is “grittier” if you don’t have a Vitamix. Add chocolate powder instead of green powder if using kale to lessen the bite. I don’t recommend raspberries + kale since they both have a bit of a bite.
  • I tried frozen greens, and it does NOT work.  I highly recommend always using fresh greens.

My next recommendation is kale chips.  I’ve made these a number of times, and finally found what works best for me (and our oven).

Kale Chips Perfected
from the Smitten Kitchen; pretty much the same idea, but in my own words

1 bunch kale (curly or dino variety both work well)
1 T olive oil
Sea salt to taste

1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees.
2. Wash & rinse kale in salad mixer; try to get it as dry as possible.
3. Put kale in bowl and add olive oil & salt. Massage kale with your hands to make sure oil is distributed – this part is messy!
4. Spread kale on large lined baking sheet and bake for 20 – 25 mins, turning once.

2 thoughts on “Must-Have Green Recipes

Leave a Reply

