On Drinking

Thank goodness I’ve had a three day weekend.  I work a 9/80 schedule to where we work 9 hour days but get every other Friday off.  I need my Friday off sometimes!  This last Friday off, David and I did hot yoga at YogaOne in Midtown while the sun was rising – loved it!  We got a good deal on a ten class pass so we’re slowly using it.  Later that day I had a doctor’s appointment and also headed to the Woodlands to pick up my wedding dress since it arrived early!  I can’t post a picture now since David can’t see it, but I’m pretty pleased with it.  The only thing I’m not pleased with is that when I ordered my dress in July for my December wedding I was scoffed at because the bridal stores couldn’t believe I was purchasing a dress so “last minute”.  Apparently 6 months lead time is not enough and 8 months is expected.  They convinced me I needed a $100 rush order on the dress to receive it by November, and it’s already arrived in August!  Oh the unfairness of the bridal industry.

The weekend continued to be very “girly” themed, with not one, but two girl’s nights out.  The first girl’s night out was dinner at Benjy’s on Washington, then to the Houston Museum of Natural Science Mixers & Elixirs on Friday night.  Benjy’s has a great seasonal menu and good vegetarian options as well; it’s probably my favorite go-to restaurant nearby.    I also enjoyed the museum event – it’s always fun to go to the museum while a live band is playing and you can enjoy the exhibits with drinks.  Not that I drank; I was hydrating that night since I had a 5 AM wake up call for an 8 mile run on Saturday.  But I still had a fun time enjoying the gem exhibit, dancing, and meeting some new friends.  They might set up a monthly girl’s night, which I was happy about.  I love getting some girl time in.

Saturday morning rolled around too early, and the 8 mile run was extremely humid and fairly difficult.  It’s our hottest time of year right now, so I’m just trying to get through the heat and looking forward to cooler fall temperatures.  My running was slower than I’d like due to the heat, but I was just happy to get through it.  I’ve decided 5 to 7 miles is my absolute favorite running distance; 8 was a good challenge, but did cause more soreness than I cared for afterwards.  Saturday may have included a nap or two, all in preparation for Saturday evening…

Source

Saturday evening required some napping and hydration preparation. What for?  My friend Monique’s Hen Party.  Hen Party is the name for a British Bachelorette party.  Anyway, the night was pretty interesting and eccentric; it was all good fun, but I didn’t know many of the girls in the group, and there was definitely more drinking than I’m used to.  I can’t take much alcohol, and I didn’t want to spoil the bachelorette party fun (which included designated shots at various bars), so I quietly refused additional drinks had club sodas when I could.  I did take some shots, which were the first in a long time, but I ate lots of bread and carbs before going out and paced myself , so I was able to stay pretty sober.  David was nice enough to pick me up downtown and give me a ride home at the end – what a good guy.

On drinking: drinking is a sensitive subject, because it’s a very social thing, yet also a very personal decision. I had fun, but party girl is definitely not my style since I prefer getting up early for some fun activity.  I drank and went to parties to be social my first year in college, but didn’t feel good about it and weighed about 20 lbs more than I do now.  I’ve since learned to enjoy things in moderation.  Honestly, coconut water has pretty much replaced beer in our household!  Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy a cold beer at the end of a long hike or a wine paired with a nice dinner, but I like it at my own pace.

So my conclusion on drinking stays true: for me 1 drink is fine, and 2 drinks is my happy limit.  My preferred soreness is from biking or running, not drinking the night before.  If I’m hanging out with people who are pushing me to drink, they probably don’t know me well or might not be the ones I want to hang out with all the time.  Here’s a great post that inspires me and I often refer to on the social paradox of the non-drinker: http://www.dailygarnish.com/2010/06/why-i-quit-drinking.html.  You might find out who your friends are when you reject peer pressure and do what you think is right for you.

Luckily I didn’t have a hangover from last night; I just felt dry and my skin was oily.  I didn’t have any plans today, so I’ve just been relaxing, honeymoon planning, and I went to a Vinyasa yoga class.  The stretching and sweating always feel good.  Namaste y’all!

Leave a Reply

