Happy Belated 4th of July 2011!

P7050086

Happy 4th of July everyone!  My 4th of July was filled with:

Hot yoga + Wedding Dress Shopping (success!).  Sorry, can’t post pictures.

A 5 mile run with no lower back/hip pain (also success).

Blueberry picking, and eating too many.

Finally some rain, plus Mexican Train.

Sharing my pineapple guacamole with family, yummy veggie burgers and eating delicious homemade pesto pasta.

Symphony in the park, complete with a little one running around – she’s quick.

P7030083

Oh yeah, did you know in the Woodlands money grows on trees?  Not sure what concept they are teaching the kids up there…

P7030082

Anyway, summer has been in full swing – berries, watermelon, peaches, cucumbers and tomatoes seem to be staples for now.

P7060087

That was this week’s CSA – that is a “personal” size watermelon.  Can’t imagine what the full size look like.

I don’t think I’ve mentioned it yet, but I was having groin/hip/lower back pain that I thought might be piriformis or sciatica nerve problems.  I finally went to physical therapy and the diagnosis was extremely weak abs!  My trainer, Ingrid, now has me on a pretty good regimen that I truly believe is helping with the running – 2 pain free runs so far.  I’m focusing on lower abs specifically and strengthening my spine.  Apparently it was “loosey goosey”, so I have to stabilize it.  I’ll keep you updated, but am very optimistic that I might be fixed sooner than I thought.

2 thoughts on “Happy Belated 4th of July 2011!

Leave a Reply

