Summer CSA

Doesn’t this look fabulous?

P6290079

I can’t believe I get all this for just $20!  Dirty onions and all.  I look forward to Wednesdays since those are the days I get to pick up my colorful CSA box during the week.

In case you didn’t know, you can participate in a local CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) program where you can buy shares of produce from a farm, then you pick it up weekly (or bi-weekly) at a location near your house.  Or at least it’s near in my case.  My CSA is Wood Duck Farm, and I think they’ve been great.  A CSA is a great way to stay in touch with the seasons, try new foods and support a local business.  I really like the idea of supporting small, family-owned farms.

Oh, and after being cleaned, the dirty onions will go into my very cute new onion sack (the middle one – the smaller is for garlic/shallots and the larger for potatoes).  It helps them stay in a cool, dry place for storage and helps me stay organized, which I love.

P6290080

Posted in CSA

2 thoughts on “Summer CSA

Leave a Reply

