Work Frustration

Sigh… I’ve mentioned that I’m an engineer, and as some of you know, my current assignment is more business-related and I’m doing a lot of economic modeling.  Lately, I’ve gotten a lot of last minute requests for presentations or slides for management.  It’s a great feeling to know you’re adding value, but is stressful because every time I send out a slide that I want to be perfect.  And it’s inevitable that there will be errors somewhere in my model/slides.  My heart drops when I later find errors, like I did today.  I made a mistake in some slides, and I’ve been beating myself up for it and reworking it today.  Makes for a not-so-fun Saturday.  David says not to be so hard on myself, but it’s really tough not to.  I’m glad I have him around to calm me down sometimes.  Plus, I plan to look back on this in a few weeks, and hopefully realize it wasn’t that big of a deal.

Last night was a fun cooking & a movie double date with Boudreaux and Mandy.  This time it was Mandy’s idea to made Black Bean Burgers with Pineapple Guacamole (which also included jicama & cilantro, mmm), and it was very good.  I would have never thought to add pineapple to guacamole, but it was a hit.  It’s in the Clean Food cookbook, which I fully admit I have an obsession with.  Tonight I’m thinking of cooking her shish-kebabs, maybe with some chicken from Revival Market.

P6170213

Yes, it morphed into a pretty standard Grain-Green-Bean meal for us – I put some arugula & millet under the burger to make it a complete meal.  Then we finished it with a blueberry tart I’d made the day before.  I had the leftovers today for lunch, and David made his own arugula-topped burger for lunch, which was pretty adorable for a  guy that doesn’t cook:

P6180216

He loves arugula and was even disappointed when the store-bought arugula didn’t taste as fresh and peppery as our CSA arugula.

We saw Bridesmaids last night which was a pretty good laugh; I’d say a female version of the Hangover.  After staying out to watch the movie, we opted to sleep in just a tad (6:30 AM) then go running in the Rice University area.  We did 6 miles in a little over an hour, which included quite a bit of walking because of the heat.  Now I’m off to do some shopping/errands while David is kiting. PS – for any of you bloggers out there, this was my first time using Live Writer, it’s great!  Much faster picture uploading, etc.

Leave a Reply

