The Heat is Here

Summer is here, but that didn’t stop us from a nice run & Farmer’s Market visit yesterday morning.

Friday night was a wonderful quiet night after a long day of travel.  We got some things done around the house and watched some Glee.  I threw together a last minute dinner of Rosemary Roasted New Potatoes, Balsamic Green Beans and Tomatoes with Basil – the vegetables were all from the CSA and the herbs from the garden.  Basically, I didn’t feel like going to the store to shop for any more ingredients.  I didn’t expect it to be so flavorful and amazing, but it was delicious, especially the potatoes!

After sleeping like a rock, we got up early to go running Saturday morning.  Unfortunately, we couldn’t find our Houston Fit running group meeting location, so eventually gave up and did ~4 miles by ourselves in the Memorial Park area.  Then I made David do some push ups, crunches, and planks with me before we left the park.  Talk about humidity and sweat…  We came home, then after breakfast we headed back out, this time to the Farmer’s Market at Eastside & Richmond.  It’s the largest one in Houston.  I was surprised how crowded it was, and happy that there were so many people around.  I bought blueberries, beets, kale, carrots, tiny tomatoes (so cute!), and David got a watermelon.  Overall a pretty successful trip, though we didn’t find the peaches David was craving and had to stop by Whole Foods to get them.

We filled the rest of the afternoon with wedding planning/schedules.  It looks like we’ll have almost 2 weeks in New Zealand for our honeymoon which I am extremely excited about!   It’s hard to believe the wedding is only 6 months away.

That evening, we met Boudreaux for some indoor rock climbing, and I did a 5.8+, 5.9-, and 5.9 (aka my arch nemesis).  They weren’t clean climbs, but I made it to the top on every one, so I was very excited!  It is a step towards my goal of climbing consistent 5.9s.  We stayed at the rock gym until around 9 PM, then headed home for a few beers while I cooked a quick pasta bake with kale, tofu & mozzarella, mmm.  They guys scarfed it down – I love cooking for them!  They are my number one fans, even when I mess up.

Leave a Reply

