I love Green Monsters!

Hello All, Today is a truly amazing day for Houston weather.  It is dry out in the 70s-80s and a light breeze.  So nice!  It’s my day off, so I’m taking full advantage of not working.  I woke up at 7 AM and had to get ready for yoga pretty quickly.  I decided to make a smaller (than usual) breakfast of pumpkin-spiced quinoa, courtesy of the Heatlhy Tipping Point blog.  It was like making cute little granola!  Here are the quinoa clusters cooking; it only took 10 minutes to cook the maple-flax-quinoa-cinnamon mix:

Then I added some plain greek yogurt, pumpkin, walnuts, and pumpkin pie spice.  It probably wouldn’t hurt to add a squirt of agave. This gave me a really good protein-filled breakfast, which I needed before the Shake Your Asana yoga at Jennyoga.

I enjoyed the yoga but couldn’t do the inversions.  Next was off to Whole Foods (to basically spend too much money), and home.  I needed a snack before lunch and decided to try the infamous Green Monster smoothie that is all over the blog world.  It’s made of a handful of frozen strawberries, half a frozen banana in chunks, 2 handfuls of spinach, 1 c. almond milk (I used vanilla unsweetened), and a packet of Amazing Grass.  I’ve been feeling kind of like I’m getting sick, so this can’t hurt for immunity.

A before shot:

And an after.  Bottoms up!

Soooo delicious!  I’m in love.  I can’t wait to make another.  I topped it with leftover spiced quinoa for a little crunch too:

That’s all for now.  I’m cleaning and getting things ready for David to come home to me!

Leave a Reply

