Care-er

Woke up early with time to cook this morning.  Re-try on the pumpkin pancake.  I used the following and it was tasty, though needed the agave or maple syrup as a sweetner:

Oatmeal Pumpkin Pancake

1/2 c. oatmeal

1/3 c. pumpkin

2 egg whites

2 T almond milk

Flax

Cinammon

Walnuts as topping

Before the flip:

And the hot mess (as Tim Gunn would say) after.  I need to make smaller pancakes or learn to flip with a plate.  It still tasted good though.

Today was Woman’s conference Day 1:  I was slightly put off by  a panel that discussed “Generation Differences” and the panel was made of mid 30s-60s women that hammered on how Gen Y (my 20-something generation) doesn’t listen or take criticism, IMs too much, reads their iphone too much, and can’t spell, but oh, they are technically competent at things like twitter and facebook.  Seriously?  Ok, that’s just me venting.  I did sit back and contemplate (for much of the conference) what is my career, where is it going, and do I care?  This question continues to perplex me; I’m sure you’ll hear more on this again.  I don’t really have  “career path” in my head, since I’m not passionate about what I’m doing right now.   So what do I want?

  • I want to find something I love doing and am good at.  Making a difference or adding value would be nice.
  • I want to live in a nice location (i.e. good quality of life, outdoorsy, seasons).  Overseas/foreign countries are on the wish-list.
  • I don’t want to bring work home in the evenings, for the most part. (I don’t miss this at all)
  • I want my kids to grow up near nature and not have them in day care much.

Is that asking too much, as a typical Gen Y-er that is focused on life and healthy living?  I sat next to a pregnant mom at the conference and also wondered more about the kid question.  I am starting to like the idea of having kids more, though I have to admit, it’s an odd shift for me.  I don’t want to be a crazy career mom that’s not there for them.  Too much thinking…

On the plus side, today I got $750 today as an award.  Seven. Five. Zero.  !!  For my work on the Australia tax.  I think it’s too much for what I did, but it will surely go to good use.  I mean, you can never have too many Lululemon shopping sprees 🙂

2 thoughts on “Care-er

  1. I don’t disagree with your list. We can both figure out what our “careers” will be together.

    $750… hmmm, I can help spend that for you 😉

Leave a Reply

