Cooking Machine


Hello All, I say all because it shows each post has 3 views each… maybe David is viewing 3 times?  Maybe my views count?  Anyway, I’m a little stuffy today; I’ve been feeling it all week and of course it’s  hitting right before I have to drive to SA and then to Austin to bike ride 65 miles!   I decided because of that today would be a rest day.  It was a very wifey morning (were I a wife, that is).  I had a lot of cleaning to do.  Plus, I made an oatmeal pumpkin pancake (yummy, but will have to do 2 next time instead of one big one).  Here was breakfast in progress:

Finished product topped with a half banana and maple syrup:

Then after all the cleaning and bathroom organizing, I took a break to read for a bit, then headed to the farmers’ market down the street.  I was reluctant to go since I wanted David to be there, but I wanted to get out of the house and didn’t feel like driving much. So I put my hair into a quick braid and headed out.  I worked on my best Zoolander Blue Steel look before leaving, but decided that I am not the master, and I’ll leave it to my significant other.

I found squash and eggplant at the market and then ran by the grocery store to pick up the rest of the ingredients for my two meals: Sweet-potato Lentil Chili and Chilled Roasted Veggie Pasta (for tonight, pre-ride).  Let me just say, I felt like cooking, and cook I did!  Below are the ingredients for the first meal (chili), just to show you that it was no easy feat, though it wasn’t too hard either (insert “that’s what she said” tune here).

 

Spicy deliciousness in progress:
Finished product!  Wish I’d had jalepeno to put in the cornbread.  I topped it with plain greek yogurt instead of sour cream and it was a nice lunch; recipe is found at http://www.alive.com/7136a7a2.php?subject_bread_cramb=952.
In the meantime I’m making pasta for dinner (I told my Granny I’d bring it so that she wouldn’t have to cook, she has had a bad spell again lately).  These are the roasted veggies; I’m also baking some tofu, boiling pasta right now, and am going to puree the tomatoes with some *fresh* oregano from the balcony and some other stuff to make a sauce (recipe stolen from another blog – http://www.katheats.com/?page_id=4750).
Can’t wait until my roomie moves in so I can cook for him too!  Gotta run, time to pack & leave for SA!
One thought on “Cooking Machine

  1. The cooking looks good but the blue steal deffinetly needs some practice 😉 Can’t wait to try some. Be safe on your ride, we met a girl here who just recently broke her collar bone riding and Bryan just had an accident as well and got pretty banged up. I’ll be thinking about you.

Leave a Reply

